PDA

View Full Version : a few simple bookmarklets

brothercake
03-18-2003, 09:20 PM
Here's a small collection of bookmarklets for disecting your own (or other people's!) websites. They do things like, show all TABLE elements with a red border, hide non-link images, and so on.

I'm assuming people know what bookmarklets are, and how to install them? Please say if not, and I'll post instructions.

I'm also open to suggestions, and I'd love to see other people's ... :)

beetle
03-18-2003, 10:30 PM
Ya, can you help me install these? I'm kinda new to javascript.

Ok, kidding aside, I didn't write this one, but it's a view-source bookmarklet that does syntax highlighting! Interesting indeed. If it doesn't work after copy-pasting, let me know, I may need to upload it as a text-file.

javascript:document.body.innerHTML=String(document.documentElement.outerHTML).replace(/(<!--[\s\S]*?-->)/g,"$1").replace(/>/g," &gt;").replace(/</g," &lt;").replace(/(&lt;)([\/a-zA-Z]+)/g,"$1$2").replace(/ /g,"&nbsp;").replace(/\n/g,"<br>").replace(//g,"red>").replace(//g,"</font>").replace(/([^;=]+)=/g,"blue>$1=</font>").replace(//g,'"').replace(//g,"=").replace(/ /g,'="teal"><b>').replace(//g,"</b></font>").replace(//g,'<i>').replace(//g,"</i>").replace(//g,"<font color")

brothercake
03-18-2003, 10:41 PM
I'm seeing some special characters that are unidentified, eg

"$1"

As for installing them - well the file I posted you can just import with "Bookmarks > Manage Bookmarks > File > Import" in moz, and "File > Import and Export" in IE

To make you new ones you start with an empty bookmark - like "about:blank" and any name, and then edit its properties - change the name, and write the syntax like inline javascript:

javascript:var something=function();void(null);

where void(null) stops it from trying to open a new document. It doesn't have to be null - you can go void('your message here');

liorean
03-18-2003, 11:25 PM
Hey - that's my speciality...