View Full Version : Resolved What to change window.location to in Refer-a-Friend script

grateful
05-07-2009, 12:11 AM
Hi, I'm very new to javascript, usually I just cut and paste. However, I need to change something in this code, and have looked through tutorials and forums with no luck. Would really appreciate some help.

The code is a "refer a friend" code, that at present places the URL of the current page into the email. I would like it to place the home/index page of the site into the email instead.

I tried changing window.location to parent.location, didn't work.

I tried :

"+window.location='http://www.yoursite.com'"

but that doesn't work either. Can someone please help!

This section in the Head tags :

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
<!-- Begin

var initialsubj="Have a look at this.."
var initialmsg="Hi:\n You may want to check out this site: "+window.location
var good;
function checkEmailAddress(field) {

var goodEmail = field.value.match(/\b(^(\S+@).+((\.com)|(\.net)|(\.edu)|(\.mil)|(\.gov)|(\.org)|(\.info)|(\.sex)|(\.biz)|(\.aero)|(\.co op)|(\.museum)|(\.name)|(\.pro)|(\..{2,2}))$)\b/gi);
if (goodEmail) {
good = true;
}
else {
alert('Please enter a valid address.');
field.focus();
field.select();
good = false;
}
}
u = window.location;
function mailThisUrl() {
good = false
checkEmailAddress(document.eMailer.email);
if (good) {

//window.location = "mailto:"+document.eMailer.email.value+"?subject="+initialsubj+"&body="+document.title+" "+u;
window.location = "mailto:"+document.eMailer.email.value+"?subject="+initialsubj+"&body="+initialmsg
}
}
// End -->
</script>

The body section (in case this needs a change) is :

<form name="eMailer">
Tell a friend:
<input type="text" name="email" size="26" value=" Enter Address Here" onFocus="this.value=''" onMouseOver="window.status='Enter email address here and tell a friend about this site...'; return true" onMouseOut="window.status='';return true">
<br>