...

View Full Version : div bar across page not working



RunninTwentiFo7
04-10-2009, 11:52 PM
site: http://confabulate.org

the white space that says underconstruction is a div that is supposed to stretch across the width of the page. its working in my IE 6, but not in any other browser. I even set the width to 100% in my stylesheet. I don't know whats the problem. Can anyone help?

ex: i want a bar across the top similar to http://divergente.org/

Excavator
04-11-2009, 12:27 AM
Hello RunninTwentiFo7,
Some conflicting CSS in there. Just goes to show that valid code doesn't necessarily mean working code.

Remove this bit highlighted in red down toward the bottom of style.css -
background:#1a7c79 url(http://www.confabulate.org/bg_commentlist1.gif) bottom no-repeat;
color:#ffffff;
}

#sidebar{
background:#10b5b1;
border:1px solid #ffffff;
clear:both;
color:#fff;
float:right;
width: 446px;
margin: 0 0 0 0;
padding:10px;
}


body
{
text-align: center;
width: 440px;
margin: 0 auto
}
#sidebar a{
font-family: verdana;
font-weight: normal;
font-size:18px;
color: #1B211F;
text-align:center;
text-transform: uppercase;
letter-spacing:-1px;
word-spacing:1px;
line-height: 19px;
margin:0px;
}


#sidebar .sec-a{
float:left;
width:200px;
padding:0 10px;
}
#sidebar .sec-a a:visited{
color:#FCF4D6;
text-decoration: line-through;
font-size: 11px;
font-weight: bold;
}
#sidebar .sec-a a:link{
color:#053635;

It always pays to lay things out in a logical order so you can find everything when you come back looking for problems.
You didn't really want the body of your document to be 440px wide but #sidee was going 100% of that, just like it was told to. The IE browsers were doing it wrong.

RunninTwentiFo7
04-11-2009, 12:44 AM
ahh perfect! thanks so much, it worked! :D



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum