...

View Full Version : Resolved IE 6 position absolute height problem



shedokan
04-08-2009, 12:15 AM
When I set position to absolute in IE 6 the height turns to 0 if it's set to auto.
I have this css for the div:

.desktop{
overflow:hidden;
cursor:default;
width:100%;
position:absolute;
top:0;
left:0;
right:0;
bottom:31px;
height:auto;
}

I can't set the height to 100% because I want it 31 pixels from the bottom.

here's the page:
http://shedokan.110mb.com/os/

there must be a solution.

F-b0mb
04-08-2009, 07:52 AM
You can't set the height at 31px?

abduraooft
04-08-2009, 09:41 AM
Get rid of all overflow:hidden; and see what happens.
btw, can't you avoid the use of absolute position for the container (.desktop)?

shedokan
04-08-2009, 10:18 AM
F-b0mb:
No, I can not set the height to 31px because I want it to be .screen height-31px so i need to push it from the bottom.

abduraooft:
I got rid from all of the overflow:hidden from all the elments from .desktop to the html tag and it doesn't change a thing.

and I have to use position:absolute to make it full page height and width-31px.

timgolding
04-08-2009, 10:31 AM
Maybe try leaving the desktop at 100%. then use position relative to bump the task bar up

CSS


.taskbar
{
position:relative;
top:-31px;
}

shedokan
04-08-2009, 10:37 AM
I tried using IE8.js(http://ie7-js.googlecode.com/) and it fixed the position absolute problem.
but this isn't a solution. because I have more troubles where i use position absolute for the height to push it from the top or bottom, and IE8.js doesn't fix them.

so if a solution for this is found it will help fixing other problems too.

*edit*
timgolding:
The problem here is that I need it to be 31px from the bottom I can't do it in any other way.

Excavator
04-08-2009, 06:32 PM
Hello shedokan,
Does this work? http://nopeople.com/test/shedokanOS.html

shedokan
04-08-2009, 07:35 PM
Hello shedokan,
Does this work? http://nopeople.com/test/shedokanOS.html

that works but i your code you don't have the .desktop div.
and I need it for a mousedown event so users can select items.

Excavator
04-08-2009, 07:38 PM
Can't you use a regular CSS rollover? Hate that onMouse stuff. Have a look at a rollover example - http://nopeople.com/CSS/CSS_rollover/index.html
That's a 3 state rollover in the demo but you can easily adapt your buttons to it and make it only 2 states (normal and hovered).

Or you can add your .desktop

shedokan
04-08-2009, 08:17 PM
did you even try to double click on folders drag files and stuff like that?
this is an online operating system I'm making so css can't help me select items and move them.

thanks for trying, but I got it fixed with a css expression even though I don't like it.

let's face it there are not enough fixes for all of IE's bugs...

PS. you can remove the page now because your'e wasting my hosting's resources :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum