...

View Full Version : Trouble hacking layout for IE



glowingnova
04-02-2009, 10:05 PM
Hi. I am redesigning a an old layout using CSS. I'm having trouble getting this layout to work properly in IE6 and earlier (not sure about IE7, I don't have it installed).

I tried to use the box model hack but it broke up my layout, even in Firefox. It was the first time I had ever tried it so maybe I was doing something wrong. Anyway, I've removed all of the hacks.

Please look here to see the page (http://royalforest.net/cme-redesign/newmenu.htm) in question.

In the older versions of IE, the content div is way down on the page so there's a huge blank spot at the top. What can I do to make the content div appear where it should?

Excavator
04-03-2009, 03:48 AM
Hello glowingnova,
Your box model needs some adjusting. You have:

.masthead at 771px width inside #container at 764px width

#menu at 170px
#content at 464px
and #sidebar at 157px.
That's 791px your trying to fit into a 764px wide #main.

box model (http://www.w3.org/TR/CSS2/box.html)

You also need to read about clearing floats. Have a look at this page - http://www.quirksmode.org/css/clearing.html
(overflow:auto; is the secret)

glowingnova
04-07-2009, 06:37 PM
Thank you - I obviously have a lot to learn! Every time I think I have a grip on something I find something else that I'm cluless about!:)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum