View Full Version : COUNT by date

leroybobbins
04-01-2009, 12:18 AM
Hello,

I'm a total beginner. I've built a database that stores leads submitted through a form. The leads have a leadID, leadInfo, and timestamp.

I'm now creating reports. I created a page that shows all the leads in descending order so I can see the total number of leads. I also learned how to use COUNT to count the leadIDs.

So, here is my question:
How do I count leadID's and sort them by specified time periods? I want to see Today's Leads, This Week's Leads, This Month's Leads, and Total Leads (I know how to count total leads).

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks,
Leroy

bazz
04-01-2009, 12:39 AM
The way I would begin to work through this is to think about what you will need to tell the script. the 'a href' to go to the script needs to show the start_point and end_point of your report period or perhaps just one point with a conditional.

Imagining you have given it a start point and an end point, you then could perform your query with the following conditional

where timestamp >=start_point
and timestamp <= end_point

you would need to convert your start_point and end point into timestamp to perform the comparison check, whether you are calling a week's, a month's or a years records.

hth

bazz

leroybobbins
04-01-2009, 12:52 AM
I think I can use a BETWEEN but I want to know how to identify the date. Then use that variable in the BETWEEN.

I hope that makes sense. Like I said I am just beginning.

bazz
04-01-2009, 12:55 AM
yeh I forgot about BETWEEN. you can use it like this (once you have converted your start and end to timestamp),

where timestamp BETWEEN start_point and end_point

bazz
ps I am only a mysql beginner too.

Old Pedant
04-01-2009, 02:26 AM
The problem with this simple answer is that you could only use ONE such WHERE per SELECT, to get one kind of count. If you wanted a count for today, for a week, for a month, for a year, you'd have to do four separate SELECTs.