...

View Full Version : First Website



mattover-matter
03-13-2003, 07:49 AM
I have basically create my rough draft images and implemented them into the site. It ain't done yet, but do you like the layout?

also, sorry no url. I am short on $$$ and can't be paying for a site until It is done

murphyz
03-13-2003, 10:33 AM
perhaps it would be an idea to get a free geocities account or something similar. If we are just looking at the layout you can upload it there without needing to have a fully working site.

Mxx

brothercake
03-13-2003, 10:49 AM
Looks good so far. Don't forget ALT tags for those navigation images ;)

mattover-matter
03-13-2003, 01:21 PM
I tried getting a quick brinkster account but I accidently pushed the X button to get rid of extensive pages and closed it. I was surfing much more than 1 page at a time :P handy skill to have. I guess I gotta wait until 36 hours til my code unvalidates and I get another 1 :-{. Thanks for the replies, also. Would it be a good idea to have different "looks" of my site? Like if(site == 1){document.write("<img src="Images/Top1.gif")}
else(site == 2){
document.write("<img src="Images/Top2.gif")
}
etc, same with link rel to stylesheets?

krycek
03-13-2003, 01:48 PM
Originally posted by mattover-matter
I was surfing much more than 1 page at a time :P handy skill to have.

:eek: OMG :eek: - surfing more than one page at a time is a SKILL?!?!? [ krycek counts his Mozilla tabs ] - I have 49 tabs open in Mozilla right now, so I must be very highly skilled! :cool:

::] krycek [::

mattover-matter
03-13-2003, 02:47 PM
you and me are both considered (plural form of techy)

or:

if(recievant == krycek){
document.write("you are a techy")}
else {
return=false
}

brothercake
03-13-2003, 03:35 PM
Originally posted by krycek
I have 49 tabs open in Mozilla right now, so I must be very highly skilled!

... or have a very short attention span ;)

mattover-matter
03-13-2003, 03:47 PM
question: how many of those where the same site? :D

cg9com
03-13-2003, 03:53 PM
Originally posted by mattover-matter
Would it be a good idea to have different "looks" of my site? Like if(site == 1){document.write("<img src="Images/Top1.gif")}
else(site == 2){
document.write("<img src="Images/Top2.gif")
}
etc, same with link rel to stylesheets?

i did that before, changing the colors on random, it wasnt very intrusive, but in the end i came to the conclusion that having different colors per page, or even the same page reloaded isnt the best idea, supposedly it confused people :rolleyes:
so i stuck with static.

mattover-matter
03-13-2003, 03:59 PM
krycek, I am afraid you actually have VERY little skill :-} When I said I was browsing a lot, I meant a lot

brothercake
03-13-2003, 04:12 PM
If you fancy a user-controllable design scheme, you might like Paul Sowden's stylesheet switcher (http://alistapart.com/stories/alternate/)

krycek
03-13-2003, 04:22 PM
Originally posted by mattover-matter
krycek, I am afraid you actually have VERY little skill :-} When I said I was browsing a lot, I meant a lot

lol :p

Nope none of mine were the "same" although some I have to track different thread in forums etc.

::] krycek [::

redhead
03-13-2003, 04:40 PM
heh... that design looks pretty grand to me...

i only have two browser windows open, wouldnt want to crash my mean machine now, would i? ;)

mattover-matter
03-13-2003, 06:03 PM
actually, I just did some editing in photoshop. My system stopped at 48 :P

krycek
03-13-2003, 08:16 PM
Originally posted by mattover-matter
actually, I just did some editing in photoshop. My system stopped at 48 :P

I did know that ;)

Your editing of the dithered button background was not too great - the pattern difference was rather obvious :p

::] krycek [::

mattover-matter
03-14-2003, 01:39 AM
I thought I did a rather good job :-}

Silver
03-14-2003, 11:35 AM
:eek: I usually have 2 or 3 open max, my computer won't usually handle anymore ;) I tested it yesterday though, got up to about 12 and it sorta...died....

mattover-matter
03-15-2003, 12:03 AM
my comp stopped at 48 i beleive, or 47 not sure

mouse
03-15-2003, 12:53 AM
Looks good so far.

Windows XP keeps on trying to be clever once I get to 8 windows, it creates a submenu thingy in the taskbar. Very annoying. :mad:

mattover-matter
03-15-2003, 03:59 AM
does same thing to me, instead of getting smaller and smaller. ads do it and it makes it hard to close them

mattover-matter
03-15-2003, 04:23 AM
threw it up
http://www20.brinkster.com/amplifieddesign/

redhead
03-15-2003, 09:55 AM
methinks your images could do with the ol' alt="my image" taggy things...

mattover-matter
03-15-2003, 11:54 AM
sheesh man, its just a draft :-} Thanks though, is there anyway to center the alt text so it looks a little like the ol' image?

mattover-matter
03-15-2003, 11:55 AM
I like the layout, its simple, organizes, and original. Any thoughts, mail me

redhead
03-15-2003, 12:19 PM
Originally posted by mattover-matter
is there anyway to center the alt text so it looks a little like the ol' image? you could put some spaces in... like this: alt="&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Text&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;"

other than that... methinks not ;) oh, the "proper" way to do that is actaully title="&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Text&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;" and the alt is for when the image doesnt exist or poeple without a browser that is set/designed to show images



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum