View Full Version : Completing a 'Where' clause from a query populated drop-down list

03-24-2009, 11:25 PM
I'm a total newbie and I'm stuck...

I'm trying to complete the WHERE clause in a MySQL SELECT statement from a drop down list that has been populated by a previous SELECT statement. I've got the drop-down list populated, but I haven't got the second query to run. Specifically here's what I'm trying to do:

I have a single table that list product brands and model numbers (2 separate fields).
The drop down list presents the brand names (via a SELECT DISTINCT statement).
I want to output a table of the model numbers after the user selects a brand name.

03-24-2009, 11:55 PM
You will need to use Javascript or send an AJAX request back to a PHP page to re-run a query and repopulate the second drop down list.

03-25-2009, 12:34 AM
If you don't want to use AJAX for whatever reason, you can submit the form as soon as a brand name is chosen, and use the resulting $_GET or $_POST info to complete the second query and populate the model numbers listbox. AJAX is a better solution though.

Another possiblity is to use PHP to build a Javascript array using every possible brand name choice and its children, and then it's a simple Javascript function to use the data in the array to re-build the second listbox whenever the first listbox changes.

03-25-2009, 02:49 PM
Thank you for the suggestions; I'll look into the use of AJAX (but like I said, I'm a TOTAL newbie to this). I apparently wasn't clear on what I'm trying to do here, which is to output a table (not a second drop down list) of the model numbers associated with a brand selected from the first (and only) drop down list.

I have been able to accomplish this with a text type input as follows:

<form action="<?php $PHP_SELF; ?>" method="POST">
<input type="text" name="name" />
<br />
mysql_connect("localhost", "username", "password") or die(mysql_error());
mysql_select_db("myDatabase") or die(mysql_error());