...

View Full Version : New Photography site that needs review on design/navigation



dctsteve
03-24-2009, 10:10 PM
I'm looking for some eyes on a new site that I just made for a client who is a photographer. I have not implemented any SEO elements yet, therefore, the site is in its final stages before launch. The clients loves the sight but I want to know what the professional Web community thinks.


I'm open to criticism's. Please tell me what you think.

http://fivescorephotography.com

P.S thank you for taking the time to read this and respond. Its greatly appreciated

bazz
03-24-2009, 11:12 PM
well, I am hardly the right person to give you a full run down of its merits. However, in the about us page (FF3) you might need to pad the text a bit. it runs off the r/h side.

You could lower the kb count of the images.
What about making a proper logo? the (sort of) H that shows in the image panel on the home page, might make a good logo? the currently-showing F and P are not really visible unless you look directly at the logo.

hth

bazz

TinyScript
03-25-2009, 12:49 AM
There's not much to critque. LOL The only thing that stood out was the size difference in the top of the header's red line and the bottom of the header's red line. They should be the same? Maybe that was intentional? I don't know, but you couldn't have overlooked it. What's the reasoning behind the ununiformity?

dctsteve
03-25-2009, 02:52 AM
There's not much to critque. LOL The only thing that stood out was the size difference in the top of the header's red line and the bottom of the header's red line. They should be the same? Maybe that was intentional? I don't know, but you couldn't have overlooked it. What's the reasoning behind the ununiformity?



I just didnt think that the tabs for each link would look good if they were the same thickness. lol, thanks for your input, I know the site is kinda bare

bazz
03-25-2009, 05:27 AM
I just didnt think that the tabs for each link would look good if they were the same thickness. lol, thanks for your input, I know the site is kinda bare

I think he was referring to the red at the extreme top of the window, compared with the red line at the bottom of the header 'image'/section. one is about 5px and the other about 2px. If they need to be changed at all, I would make the top one thinner.

bazz

Fumigator
03-25-2009, 04:39 PM
The flash you're using for the slideshow on the Home page has a small bug-- on the first slide when I hover near the top I get a message "enter caption here" and if I keep that semi-opaque white bar up through the transition to the next slide, the white bar is there to stay for the remainder of the slideshow. Not a huge deal, but a little annoying nonetheless. I'd also lose the red 1px border around the slideshow, and the top margin just looks too big.

I like this type of gallery/slideshow (notice the mousewheel will flip through the pics-- very cool):

http://www.alwaysperfectphotography.com/modules/tinycontent/index.php?id=7

bazz
03-25-2009, 07:18 PM
There is also a problem with scripting.

I have noscript and when I tell it to temporarily allow your page, it reloads a white page with only the outline of your slideshow. (From this perspective it is good that the border is there currently). ;)

I don't know whether that issue is caused by no script but, it is the only site I have ever had such a difficulty with so, maybe that is a clue?

hth

bazz

dctsteve
03-26-2009, 02:15 AM
The flash you're using for the slideshow on the Home page has a small bug-- on the first slide when I hover near the top I get a message "enter caption here" and if I keep that semi-opaque white bar up through the transition to the next slide, the white bar is there to stay for the remainder of the slideshow. Not a huge deal, but a little annoying nonetheless. I'd also lose the red 1px border around the slideshow, and the top margin just looks too big.

I like this type of gallery/slideshow (notice the mousewheel will flip through the pics-- very cool):

http://www.alwaysperfectphotography.com/modules/tinycontent/index.php?id=7

thanks for your reply, I just fixed the borders and made them the same size and width. I made the padding for the slide show large cause I wanted to separate it from the heading of the slide show. I'mma work on the slide show asap. thanks again

dctsteve
03-26-2009, 02:17 AM
I have no script as well, i think it might show up differently on different computers, cause I tried the temporarily as well as forbidden just to see what happens and it looked like normal. How did you get the white screen?

bazz
03-26-2009, 02:32 AM
I viewed your page several times. With scripting disallowed, I then allowed it temporarily and refresshed the page which sometimes is just white with the red border.

bazz



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum