...

View Full Version : Dropdown menus with existing buttons



MGS
03-19-2009, 11:22 AM
I'm trying to set up what will efectively be a series of vertical submenus based on pre-existing buttons which each one activated by a mouseOver command.

Does anyone one know where I can find a good script for that?

abduraooft
03-19-2009, 12:56 PM
I don't know anything about your current setup, but http://htmldog.com/articles/suckerfish/dropdowns/ is a good tutorial to build a good drop down menu.

MGS
03-19-2009, 01:29 PM
Well I created some HTML buttons to form a main menu and now I want to attach mouseover submenus to them.

Do I just say onMouseOver(attachMenuname)?

abduraooft
03-19-2009, 01:46 PM
Well I created some HTML buttons to form a main menu and now I want to attach mouseover submenus to them. We can't guess the code at your end . So post your code here or a link would be much better. (Please use
tags to wrap your code while posting here)
btw, if you are going to display a list of items(say some links), then an unordered/ordered list is the correct semantic element to make such a setup(and the above provided link explains it very well).

MGS
03-19-2009, 03:41 PM
<body>
<table width="200" border="1">
<tr>
<td><img src="Products.png" width="120" onmouseover="this.src='ProductsMouseOver.png';" onmouseout="this.src='Products.png';" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><img src="how.png" width="120" onmouseover="this.src='howMouseOver.png';" onmouseout="this.src='how.png';" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><img src="progress.png" width="120" onMouseOver="this.src='progressMouseOver.png';" onMouseOut="this.src='progress.png';" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><img src="about.png" width="120" height="37" onmouseover="this.src='aboutMouseOver2.png';" onmouseout="this.src='about2.png';" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><img src="community.png" width="120" onmouseover="this.src='communityMouseOver.png';" onmouseout="this.src='community.png';" /></td>
</tr>
</table>
</body>

abduraooft
03-19-2009, 03:43 PM
All my above replies are now perfect and very apt!

Do you know why tables for layout is stupid (http://www.hotdesign.com/seybold/)?

MGS
03-19-2009, 04:24 PM
Start from scratch in other words, thank you.

abduraooft
03-19-2009, 05:45 PM
Start from scratch in other words, thank you.
Yes, you are in the right track then :). Also try to make your document semantic (http://www.boagworld.com/archives/2005/11/semantic_code_what_why_how.html).



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum