...

View Full Version : 2 Columns for sub menus?



khb33
03-10-2009, 02:40 AM
I recently made a horizontal drop-down menu. My question is how do I make columns for the sub-items. I have quite a few items and instead of one really like drop down menu I would like for 3 columns. I know there has to be a pretty simple solution if anyone could help.

JeannetteK
03-10-2009, 03:05 AM
What is the website with the current menu? Do you have a site with an example of what you want as well?

abduraooft
03-10-2009, 10:10 AM
If you are looking for a multi level drop down menu, see http://htmldog.com/articles/suckerfish/dropdowns/

wuyou013
03-10-2009, 10:28 AM
Do you have a site with an example of what you want as well?

khb33
03-10-2009, 02:27 PM
As of now I am looking to add a lot of different sub items in my dropdown and instead of having a really long list I would like it broken up into columns.

It's set up just with a simple unordered list.

<div class="navigation">

<ul id="cssmenu1">

<li><a href="index.html">HOME</a></li>

<li><a href="openings.html">&nbsp;OPENINGS</a>

<ul>
<li><a href="roylopez.html">Roy Lopez</a></li>
<li><a href="Dutch.html">Dutch</a></li>
<li><a href="English.html">English</a></li>
<li><a href="KingsGambit.html">King's Gambit</a></li>
<li><a href="QueensGambit.html">Queen's Gambit</a></li>
<li><a href="CaroKann.html">Caro-Kann</a></li>
</ul>
</li></ul>

I'm looking for the site to look like http://www.ns.nl/ or even better http://www.whitehouse.gov/ I really just want something simple to implement that can break up the dropdown menu. Thanks for the help.

abduraooft
03-10-2009, 02:35 PM
http://www.whitehouse.gov/
They are nesting a set of <ul>s inside the first level <li>s like

<ul>
<a href="#">some link</a>
<div>
<ul>
<li>link 1 of set 1</li>
</ul>
<ul>
<li>link 1 of set 2</li>
</ul>
<ul>
<li>link 1 of set 3</li>
</ul>
</div>
</ul>

khb33
03-10-2009, 02:43 PM
My site is www.thechesswebsite.com I am very new to web design and it took me a few months to even get up what I have up. Sadly I'm not at the point where I can look at the whitehouse website and figure out how to implement the code into my site without messing everything up. Any help with some basic code that would make things work would be greatly appreciated.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum