View Full Version : Understanding PHP

Kev0121
03-02-2009, 12:38 AM
Right, so i've been learning about php for 6 months now and i still don't know how it works and i've been told this is my down to it. So is there anywhere, where i can learn how it works so i can get the "programming flow"

/Kev

Fou-Lu
03-02-2009, 12:49 AM
Can you elaborate on what you mean by how it works? Are you asking how the interpreter passes data back and forth between C, or are you asking how the flow of a web page would go?

Kev0121
03-02-2009, 12:51 AM
The flow of a web page i guess lol i've been told that i need to know "how programs flow"

Fou-Lu
03-02-2009, 01:06 AM
Ok.
PHP is procedural. Starting with PHP5, they have adopted a strong interpreted object core allowing collection of properties into new data types. PHP is otherwise a datatype weak language, forcing the developer to make the necessary checks to conform the input data. All input data is a typeof string from a form, which is why PHP uses weak datatyping.
Procedural programming involves moving from the start of the program to the end of the program, executing each command one by one. Developers write sub-routines to break from the normal procedural flow - these are called functions in php. PHP has hundreds of pre-defined functions, including extensions.

There is no pre-set method of generating or handling data on a website. The only thing that matters is that header data is sent prior to output. This is done by ensuring any method that requires headers (header, cookies, sessions, etc) are handled before the first echo/print command including die and exit. With this in mind, cookie and session handling must occur before the printing.