View Full Version : Basic Search Returns Results, but FULL-TEXT Doesn't?

bjblackmore
02-18-2009, 10:40 AM
Hi,

I'm new to FULL-TEXT searching, although I've been programing using MySQL & PHP for a number of years.

I'm trying to do a search on a database, and doing a basic search returns a number of results:

"SELECT * FROM table1 WHERE data like 'test'"

this returns about 20 results, which includes records with both 'Test' & 'test'. However, doing a full-text search returns an empty set:

"SELECT *, MATCH(data) AGAINST ('test') AS score FROM table1 WHERE MATCH(data) AGANIST ('test')"

I have a similar query working that does return results on another table using:

"SELECT ticket_id, MATCH(keywords,details) AGAINST ('test') AS score FROM table2 WHERE MATCH(keywords,details) AGANIST ('test')".

I don't understand how the simple search is returning results, when the full-text doesn't. Am I formatting the query incorrectly?

Many thanks

Ben

abduraooft
02-18-2009, 11:05 AM
The fulltext search ignores the results, if the number of records matched is more than 50% of the total number of records. Have a try by adding more records(with different value) in to your table.

Every correct word in the collection and in the query is weighted according to its significance in the collection or query. Consequently, a word that is present in many documents has a lower weight (and may even have a zero weight), because it has lower semantic value in this particular collection. Conversely, if the word is rare, it receives a higher weight. The weights of the words are combined to compute the relevance of the row.

bjblackmore
02-18-2009, 12:02 PM
Thanks, that explains why it wasn't working. I've chaned the search to "IN BOOLEAN MODE" to ignore the threshold, which has improved the search, however, I notice on one of my tables one search returns lots of results, and another returns none. My records are:

test_table
|001|test|
|002|test 1|
|003|test 2|
|004|test 3|
|005|test 4|