...

View Full Version : Please help w/ batch file!!! Thanks!



darylzero
03-07-2003, 03:04 PM
I need a batch file to backup some folders and files on the root C:\ drive of a Windows XP Professinal. I have an old batch file that worked well on a Windows ME system, but it doesn't work on the XP Pro machine. I need to backup the files from the C: drive to the CD-RW drive.
Here is the old batch file. Please help as to what I would need to change. Thank You!!!

--------------------------------------------------------
cd\
c:
XCOPY C:\MBACHI\*.* D:\MBACHI\*.*
XCOPY C:\MBACHI\DEFAULT_DC\*.* D:\MBACHI\DEFAULT_DC\*.*
XCOPY C:\MBACHI\DEFAULT_MD\*.* D:\MBACHI\DEFAULT_MD\*.*
XCOPY C:\MBACHI\IMAGES\*.* D:\MBACHI\IMAGES\*.*
XCOPY C:\MBACHI\MBAWIN\*.* D:\MBACHI\MBAWIN\*.*
XCOPY C:\MBANOTE\*.* D:\MBANOTE\*.*
XCOPY C:\MBACHI\WP_DC\*.* D:\MBACHI\WP_DC\*.*
XCOPY C:\MBACHI\WP_MD\*.* D:\MBACHI\WP_MD\*.*
XCOPY C:\WP\*.* D:\WP\*.*
XCOPY C:\ARCHIVE\*.* D:\ARCHIVE\*.*
XCOPY C:\A\*.* D:\A\*.*
XCOPY C:\B\*.* D:\B\*.*
XCOPY C:\C\*.* D:\C\*.*
XCOPY C:\D\*.* D:\D\*.*
XCOPY C:\E\*.* D:\E\*.*
XCOPY C:\F\*.* D:\F\*.*
XCOPY C:\G\*.* D:\G\*.*
XCOPY C:\H\*.* D:\H\*.*
XCOPY C:\I\*.* D:\I\*.*
XCOPY C:\J\*.* D:\J\*.*
XCOPY C:\K\*.* D:\K\*.*
XCOPY C:\L\*.* D:\L\*.*
XCOPY C:\M\*.* D:\M\*.*
XCOPY C:\N\*.* D:\N\*.*
XCOPY C:\O\*.* D:\O\*.*
XCOPY C:\P\*.* D:\P\*.*
XCOPY C:\Q\*.* D:\Q\*.*
XCOPY C:\R\*.* D:\R\*.*
XCOPY C:\S\*.* D:\S\*.*
XCOPY C:\T\*.* D:\T\*.*
XCOPY C:\U\*.* D:\U\*.*
XCOPY C:\V\*.* D:\V\*.*
XCOPY C:\W\*.* D:\W\*.*
XCOPY C:\X\*.* D:\X\*.*
XCOPY C:\Y\*.* D:\Y\*.*
XCOPY C:\Z\*.* D:\Z\*.*
---------------------------------------------------------

Phantom
03-07-2003, 10:14 PM
Try going from cd\ to cd c:\ (or just cd c I think)

Roy Sinclair
03-07-2003, 11:32 PM
Just delete the first two lines of the bat file which aren't needed anyway.

darylzero
03-08-2003, 12:14 AM
Thanks for the help I got it to work. The only problem is I can have it copy from hard drive to hard drive, but what I really need is for it to copy to a CD-RW. Any ideas as to how this would be done?

Thanks

Phantom
03-08-2003, 12:42 AM
Hmmm...no clue actually...maybe try copying to your Burner's drive letter? Other than that I wouldn't have a clue :(

Jason
03-08-2003, 02:26 AM
Try using just COPY instead of XCOPY
and if that doesn't work take out the "." and just make it a space.


Jason

darylzero
03-08-2003, 04:25 PM
Ok I got it. Thanks for the help everyone. My CD-RW disc wasn't formatted. Now it works like a charm.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum