...

View Full Version : IE white space issue



Ralynnez
02-16-2009, 11:58 PM
Hi,
I need a second set of eyes for this style sheet - I am assuming the problem is with the style sheet because everything works without it - but it has been a long day and I could be wrong. I will post additional code from the pages themselves if necessary...
The website looks great in FireFox, but when I check in IE (both 6 and 7) I am left with a lot of whitespace at the top of the page below the header, and none of the body text shows up at all....
I have googled, and it seems like it may be a known issue? I just can't make heads or tails of it.

Here is the stylesheet, thanks so much for any light you can shed, and let me know if I need to include any more info:



body {
margin: 20px 0 0 0;
padding: 0;
background: #EEEDED;
line-height: 1.6em;
text-align: justify;
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
font-size: 13px;
color: ##757575;

}

h1, h2, h3, h4, h5, h6 {
margin: 0;
padding: 0;
font-weight: normal;
color: #F06C00;
}

ul {
margin-left: 0px;
padding-left: 0px;
list-style-type: none;
}

a {
color: #F06C00;
}

a:hover {
text-decoration: none;
}

/** HEADER */

#header {
width: 840px;
height: 230px;
margin: 0px auto;
background: url(images/image01.jpg) no-repeat left top;
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
color: #FFFFFF;
}

#header h1 {
float: left;
margin: 0px;
padding: 207px 0px 0px 50px;
text-transform: uppercase;
font-size: 38px;
color: #FFFFFF;
}

#header h2 {
float: right;
margin: 0px;
padding: 213px 40px 0px 0px;
text-transform: uppercase;
color: #FFFFFF;
}

/** MENU */

#menu {
width: 840px;
height: 50px;
margin: 0px auto;
background: url(images/image02.jpg) no-repeat left top;
}

#menu ul {
margin: 0px 0px 0px 50px;
padding: 0px;
list-style: none;
}

#menu li {
display: inline;
}

#menu a {
display: block;
float: left;
background: #E86800;
margin-top: 10px;
margin-right: 3px;
padding: 5px 20px;
text-transform: uppercase;
text-decoration: none;
font-weight: bold;
font-size: 11px;
color: #FFFFFF;
}

#menu a:hover {
color: #FFFFFF;
}

/** CONTENT */

#content-wrap {
width: 840px;
margin: 0 auto;
background: url(images/image03.jpg) repeat-y left top;
}

#content {
width: 740px;
margin: 0px auto;
padding-top: 20px;
}

#columnA {
float: right;
width: 500px;
}

#columnA h2 {
border-bottom: 1px #FFA66B dashed;
text-transform: uppercase;
font-size: 16px;
font-weight: bold;
}

#columnB {
float: left;
width: 200px;
}

#columnB h2 {
border-bottom: 1px #FFA66B dashed;
text-transform: uppercase;
font-size: 16px;
font-weight: bold;
}

#columnB strong {
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
font-size: 12px;
color: #575757;
}


/** FOOTER */

#footer {
width: 840px;
height: 70px;
margin: 0px auto;
background: url(images/image04.jpg) no-repeat left top;
font-size: 11px;
color: #000000;
}

#footer p {
margin: 0;
padding: 5px 10px;
}

#footer .copyright {
float: left;
margin: 50px 0px 0px 30px;
padding-left: 20px;
text-align: center;
}

#footer .links {
float: right;
margin: 50px 30px 0px 0px;
padding-right: 20px;
text-align: center;
}

#footer .css {
padding-left: 20px;
}

#footer .xhtml {
padding-left: 20px;
}

#footer a {
}

Excavator
02-17-2009, 12:52 AM
Hello Ralynnez,
It would be a lot easier to have the entire code, a link to the test site would even be better.

Your white space at the bottom of #header probably from this:

#header h1 {
float: left;
margin: 0px;
padding: 207px 0px 0px 50px;
text-transform: uppercase;
font-size: 38px;
color: #FFFFFF;
}

245px (top margin of 207px plus your 38px font size) doesn't quite fit in 230px high #header


You can go back and add code tags to your post (the * icon in the edit post window) so your code is in a scroll box like mine is. Really helps the readablitiy of your post.

Ralynnez
02-17-2009, 01:26 PM
Hi Excavator, thanks for your reply and thanks for the tips! This is my first ever forum post anywhere, so tips are much appreciated :)

I don't have the site online yet, just working locally from my computer, but maybe it would be a good idea for me to put it up to get some help with this. I will do that and post the link soon.

Thanks again

abduraooft
02-17-2009, 01:50 PM
Posting your complete html code(including DOCTYPE) would also be useful to an extend.
(PS: As pointed out above use
][/COLOR] tags to wrap your code while posting here. You may edit your original post too)

Ralynnez
02-17-2009, 03:05 PM
I found the error - in my html code, I had left out the closing tag to one of the headers....
The end result of a long day of staring at it, guess I just needed a good nights sleep!
Thanks to both of you for your comments and help. This is a great forum, I will definitely come back.

abduraooft
02-17-2009, 03:42 PM
I found the error - in my html code, I had left out the closing tag to one of the headers.... Validate your code (http://validator.w3.org/#validate_by_input) while developing your website. It'll save your time a lot!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum