View Full Version : wmode help

02-06-2009, 06:58 PM
I've tried to comprehend what is problably a simple enough thing...yet I am lost.

I've got this cool widget from widgetbox that runs flash and making it flow nicely with my page I need to paste an image over a part of it.

I've learned that using div tages etc wont works as the browser renders it separately etc..

So I believe I need to use a wmode param, but cant find info on exactly where to place it.

Here's the widgetbox script: (I've added the div tag for z positionsing)

<div style="z-index: 2; width: 720px; height: 0px; position: absolute; top: 60px; left: 0px; visibility: visible;"><script type="text/javascript" src="http://cdn.widgetserver.com/syndication/subscriber/InsertWidget.js"></script><script>if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('31ed9756-ba9f-4aee-8fa6-c23d1515a0a5');</script><noscript>Get the <a href="http://www.widgetbox.com/widget/9482dc53-6505-4c88-b560-4ff1e8a5e9ab">Newsmap</a> widget and many other <a href="http://www.widgetbox.com/">great free widgets</a> at <a href="http://www.widgetbox.com">Widgetbox</a>!</noscript></div>

Where would I put the wmode param???

Help !! :(

02-06-2009, 09:03 PM
You don't as you would need to have access to their js file and be able to edit it. Also their widget generates an iframe. Javascript has no access to files on another domain so you wouldn't be able to access the iframe with javascript.

02-07-2009, 10:53 AM
Thanks for the answer.

Just out of curiosity, if I we're to make a flash object that I would have the access to the script, would I be able to layer that over their flash?

02-07-2009, 04:10 PM
Yes you would be able to as you would have direct access to the object code.