View Full Version : Flash and sound: Loading only a part of an mp3. Is this possible?

01-24-2009, 10:19 AM
Hi all,

I have an mp3 file of 50 MB size, which has 4 songs combined.

For example, song1 plays from 00:00:00 (hour:minute:seconds) to 00:05:00 and other songs in the following order.
00:05:01 - 00:10:00 - Song2
00:10:01 - 00:14:00 - Song3
00:14:01 - 00:20:00 - Song4

What I'm looking for is to load the each songs separately.

Say, just to load Song 3 from 00:10:01 - 00:14:00, I use the following code.

var test_sound:Sound = new Sound();
test_sound.onLoad = function ():Void{

The problem is, it loads everything and then plays from the 600th second.

But if I remove the onLoad event and make it like:

var test_sound:Sound = new Sound();
//test_sound.onLoad = function ():Void{

it doesn't skip the first part :(

Is there a way to load only the required data?

Thank you.

01-24-2009, 12:08 PM
Well you have to load the whole mp3 I believe. Perhaps it would be easier to cut out the extra stuff you don't want and order it correctly? This would be the best solution.

Search for audacity for a great free editor.

Otherwise, is this all of the code? Something is missing that would help figure this out, but it has something to do with play(600);, which is the marker at which position to start playing the audio. Also your filename says 'combined', so are they all together or are you loading 5 song files?

01-24-2009, 01:33 PM
I have a single file (combined-songs.mp3) which actually has 5 songs combined.

I'm trying to figure out a way to play each songs without making separate .mp3 files. (using audacity or any other sound editor)

This is all the code as of now :)

The following code is to play the file from 10th minute, which is the second song.


Hope I didn't confuse.

01-24-2009, 04:12 PM
Is that all of the code, or are you using buttons to have it play?

I think you could to use sound cues in order to have the files know when the songs were at a certain point. Otherwise you could have a listener that listens for when the sound is at a certain point and stops it.


01-26-2009, 01:51 PM
Yes, that's all the code I have. No buttons as of now, I'm just testing the possibility.

Thank you for the links. I'll check them and get back.