...

View Full Version : Mac's new Safari



dreamingdigital
03-03-2003, 11:56 PM
Great! All we need is another internet browser to code for! I downloaded Safari for my eMac and it works fine. I got interested and ran a JS test to see what browser it's copying. Safari tests true for Netscape 6,7. Is this right? So I'm guessing Safari is Apple's versioin of Mozilla 1? (Just like NS7 is Netscape's version)

I'm just hoping I'm right.

CP

jkd
03-04-2003, 12:36 AM
No. It uses a modified KHTML rendering engine, similar to Konqueror.

This thread will be moved to a more appropriate category.

brothercake
03-04-2003, 06:02 PM
Safari has the phrase "like gecko" in its user agent string, so a lot of sniffer scripts will identify it as that (which is presumably why it's there)

It is, as jkd said, based on the KHTML/KJS rendering engine which Konqueror uses; the tests I ran show better JS and CSS support than Konqueror 3.0.3 (but I don't have Konqi 3.1 to test - I'm presuming that 3.1 and Safari are exactly the same)

Safari also has UA-spoofing, which is difficult (but not impossible) to get round. In most cases you won't need to identify it uniquely; but if you do, have a look at my sniffer script (http://www.brothercake.com/scripts/sniffer.php) which shows you how - essentially, in a browser which you have already established is not konqueror, safari may be established by this statement:

(typeof document.childNodes!="undefined" && typeof document.all=="undefined" && typeof navigator.taintEnabled=="undefined")

dreamingdigital
03-04-2003, 06:32 PM
Thanks. :) Is there any reason I shouldn't just bundle Safari in with NS6,7/Moz?

Right now everything seems to be fine just bundling them together. Do you think there are further plans to make Safari so it has to be addressed specifically?

CP

brothercake
03-04-2003, 06:39 PM
Originally posted by dreamingdigital
Is there any reason I shouldn't just bundle Safari in with NS6,7/Moz?

That's what I do; in most cases it's enough, unless you run across an implementation bug. The bugs is usually what you need a client sniffer for :rolleyes:



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum