...

View Full Version : Drop Down problems when published



dreamsonthefly
01-17-2009, 12:27 AM
When I preview this it is perfect, when I publish it it doesn't work. I have been working on this for days and am now getting frustrated. I am no "webmaster" however, I just can't figure why this is happening.

I appreciate any assistance offered, this is a wonderful forum.

Rhonda
www.dreamsonthefly.com






Here is my html code:


<style>
<!--
#foldheader{cursor:pointer;cursor:hand;}
//-->
</style>
<FONT FACE="Verdana" SIZE="5"COLOR="#000000">

<li id="foldheader"><a href="http://www.dreamsonthefly.com/index.html">Home</li></a>

<FONT FACE="Verdana" SIZE="5"COLOR="#000000">

<li id="foldheader">Steelhead
<ul id="foldinglist" style="display:none"<font size="3"><li><a target = "_parent"
<a href="http://www.dreamsonthefly.com/granderonde.html">Grande Ronde </a></ul>


<FONT FACE="Verdana" SIZE="5"COLOR="#000000">

<li id="foldheader">Bass</li>
<ul id="foldinglist" style="display:none"
<font size="3"> <li><a target = "_parent" <a href="http://www.dreamsonthefly.com/bass.html">Smallmouth </a></li></ul>


<FONT FACE="Verdana" SIZE="5"COLOR="#000000">

<li id="foldheader">Education</li>
<ul id="foldinglist" style="display:none" style=&{head};>
<font size="3"> <li><a target = "_parent" <a href="http://www.dreamsonthefly.com/education.html">Reading Steelhead Water </a></li>

<li><a target = "_parent" <ul> <a href="http://www.dreamsonthefly.com/education.html">Knots </a></li></ul>

<FONT FACE="Verdana" SIZE="5"COLOR="#000000">

<li id="foldheader"> Trout</li>
<ul id="foldinglist" style="display:none" style=&{head};>
<font size="3"> <li><a target = "_parent" <ul> <a href="http://www.dreamsonthefly.com/newOwyhee.html">Amazing Owyhee </a></li>
<li><a target = "_parent" <ul> <a href="http://www.dreamsonthefly.com/diamond.html">Our friends at Diamond D Ranch </a></li></ul>



</font>
</style>


Here is my js code:

var mastertabvar=new Object()
mastertabvar.baseopacity=0
mastertabvar.browserdetect=""

function showsubmenu(masterid, id){
if (typeof highlighting!="undefined")
clearInterval(highlighting)
submenuobject=document.getElementById(id)
mastertabvar.browserdetect=submenuobject.filters? "ie" : typeof submenuobject.style.MozOpacity=="string"? "mozilla" : ""
hidesubmenus(mastertabvar[masterid])
submenuobject.style.display="block"
instantset(mastertabvar.baseopacity)
highlighting=setInterval("gradualfade(submenuobject)",50)
}

function hidesubmenus(submenuarray){
for (var i=0; i<submenuarray.length; i++)
document.getElementById(submenuarray[i]).style.display="none"
}

function instantset(degree){
if (mastertabvar.browserdetect=="mozilla")
submenuobject.style.MozOpacity=degree/100
else if (mastertabvar.browserdetect=="ie")
submenuobject.filters.alpha.opacity=degree
}


function gradualfade(cur2){
if (mastertabvar.browserdetect=="mozilla" && cur2.style.MozOpacity<1)
cur2.style.MozOpacity=Math.min(parseFloat(cur2.style.MozOpacity)+0.1, 0.99)
else if (mastertabvar.browserdetect=="ie" && cur2.filters.alpha.opacity<100)
cur2.filters.alpha.opacity+=10
else if (typeof highlighting!="undefined") //fading animation over
clearInterval(highlighting)
}

function initalizetab(tabid){
mastertabvar[tabid]=new Array()
var menuitems=document.getElementById(tabid).getElementsByTagName("li")
for (var i=0; i<menuitems.length; i++){
if (menuitems[i].getAttribute("rel")){
menuitems[i].setAttribute("rev", tabid) //associate this submenu with main tab
mastertabvar[tabid][mastertabvar[tabid].length]=menuitems[i].getAttribute("rel") //store ids of submenus of tab menu
if (menuitems[i].className=="selected")
showsubmenu(tabid, menuitems[i].getAttribute("rel"))
menuitems[i].getElementsByTagName("a")[0].onmouseover=function(){
showsubmenu(this.parentNode.getAttribute("rev"), this.parentNode.getAttribute("rel"))
}
}
}
}

jmrker
01-17-2009, 12:40 AM
I just can't figure why this is happening.

What is the 'why'?

abduraooft
01-17-2009, 08:21 AM
Please use
tag to wrap your code while posting here(you may edit your above post).

Don't rely completely on javascript to make a drop-down menu, as people won't see anything if they don't have a javascript support. Use a CSS based one instead, see http://htmldog.com/articles/suckerfish/dropdowns/

PS: Always validate your code and fix all errors in your markup (http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dreamsonthefly.com%2F&charset=%28detect+automatically%29&doctype=Inline&group=0). Your DOCTYPE is incomplete (http://www.alistapart.com/articles/doctype/).



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum