View Full Version : Resizable table columns

03-03-2003, 03:53 AM
Ever wanted to have a dynamically resizable table? While working on a database printout recently I figured it would be much easier for the user, if he/she could resize the columns. I looked around and all I could find that would do this was a java applet, which means that the person needs to have java installed. I was about to start the never-ending task of scripting it in javascript, which probably would have taken me weeks to get all the glitches out and make it as cross browser as possible, when something hit me. Why not use a series of frames. This is how I broke it up. For the page that I want to have the table in I put an iframe where I want the table, made it the appropriate size, used css to make custom border,... That iframe targets a frame page. This frame page consists of vertical frames. Each frame holds a different page, which I entered the data for that column. And that's that.

This seems like a lot of work, but it's much shorter than the alternative (scripting). If you're interested, take a look at my example:

Resizable Table (http://pages.infinit.net/mvideos/columns/start.htm)

I thought this was an interesting concept that others may be able to use. Enjoy!

03-03-2003, 05:35 AM
Thats pretty cool. :thumbsup:

The only down side is the the cursor doesn't change when you hover over the column breaks. It would be more user friendly if it changed to the standard two horizontal arrows.

Otherwise your average user wouldn't even realize you could re-size them.

03-03-2003, 06:17 AM
Hmmmmm.... yes, it works, but it is an ugly and inadvisable method for oh-so-many reasons! (I do not want to cause any offence by saying this by the way.) The JS equivalent would by longer, I agree, but having lots of frames on a page makes me shudder, personally! :eek:

On the other hand, it is an interesting and novel approach to the problem :)

::] krycek [::

PS - It did not work at all in Mozilla - just IE - another reason why it is bad! :p

03-03-2003, 06:58 AM
i'll confirm the "borked in gecko" report.

03-04-2003, 04:28 AM
Decided not to be lazy:


03-04-2003, 06:12 AM
very cool. but so that you know, in gecko-based browsers ( i'm using phoenix ), the cursor doesn't change to indicate you can resize the columns. you've got " cursor: hand;" ; i think in Gecko it's "cursor: pointer;", but i'm not sure of that.

03-04-2003, 05:55 PM
Ya just forgot to enter it:

cursor: pointer; cursor: hand;

the whole "pointer" first bs.