...

View Full Version : Resolved Newlines and Carriage Returns



Joseph Witchard
12-19-2008, 02:54 AM
Why exactly do some many PHP scripts use both when outputting data? Don't they do the same thing?

masterofollies
12-19-2008, 03:46 AM
Where is the \n in that query?

Joseph Witchard
12-19-2008, 04:03 AM
Where is the \n in that query?

The MySQLI query? That's just my forum signature. It has nothing to do with what I'm asking.

Fumigator
12-19-2008, 04:16 AM
You want the long answer?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newline

masterofollies
12-19-2008, 04:51 AM
Oh I didn't know it was your signature

Fou-Lu
12-19-2008, 07:21 AM
You want the long answer?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newline

Short answer, simplicity. Lets you run it on different platforms and are ignored by ones that don't understand.


Oh I didn't know it was your signature

Yeah, its pretty hard to tell, especially with this being a coding forums (and code in signature). All thats there is the short line >.<

As for outputting you're data, unless its on cli you don't need line feeds at all. They just make you're source code look nice :)

Joseph Witchard
12-20-2008, 02:24 AM
Thanks:)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum