...

View Full Version : multidimensional array problem



safalkishore
02-27-2003, 03:30 PM
hi all
i am facing a problem with multidimension array while i try and access the same from a popup window and modify the actual array in the parent window.

This is what i am trying
1)I have an array in the main window
2)Onclick on a link i open a popup window
3)The popup window adds new values to the array in the parent window
4)Once the addition is done the popup window is closed
5)Then again i try and open the popup window to add more values

This is when an error throws up - "The Callee is not avaiable and disappeared-All connections invalid-Did not execute"

ie although the popup window has modified the array in the main window it fails to access the newly added array item

The main window shows the new added value though

Any solutions ????

Check below for code

Main Window

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE=javascript>
<!--
var tempArray = new Array();
for(i=0;i<2;i++)
tempArray[i]=new Array()

tempArray[0][0]="AAA"
tempArray[0][1]="ZEN2"
tempArray[1][0]="BBB"
tempArray[1][1]="ZEN1"

function winOpen()
{
alert(tempArray.length)
//alert(tempArray)
for(i=0;i<tempArray.length;i++)
{
alert(tempArray[i][0])
alert(tempArray[i][1])
}

oWin = window.open("popup.htm")
}
//-->
</SCRIPT>


PopUP Window

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE=javascript>
onload=init();
<!--
function init()
{
HeadLen=window.opener.tempArray.length;

var Headingarr = new Array();
for(i=0;i<HeadLen;i++)
Headingarr[i]=new Array()

alert(window.opener.tempArray.length)

for(i=0;i<HeadLen;i++)
{
alert(window.opener.tempArray[i][0])
alert(window.opener.tempArray[i][1])
}


for(i=0;i<HeadLen;i++)
{
Headingarr[i][0]=window.opener.tempArray[i][0];
Headingarr[i][1]=window.opener.tempArray[i][1];
}

//alert(Headingarr)
//window.opener.tempArray[window.opener.tempArray.length]=window.opener.tempArray.length;

val=window.opener.tempArray.length
//alert(val)
window.opener.tempArray[val]=new Array()
window.opener.tempArray[val][0] = "CCC"
window.opener.tempArray[val][1] = "ZEN3";

//alert(window.opener.tempArray)
var Headingarr = null;

self.close();
}
//-->
</SCRIPT>

beetle
02-27-2003, 10:29 PM
Exactly what are you trying to accomplish with all this?

Mr J
03-01-2003, 03:27 PM
Not 100% here but if you put


function window.onunload(){
opener.oWin=null;
}

in the popup page it might work

Its a case of the opener not being told that the child has closed so when you try to re open it as far as the opener is concerned it is open but it isn't if you know what I mean.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum