...

View Full Version : label in css form doesnt display right in ie



gax
12-17-2008, 10:23 AM
http://www.csulb.edu/~sgaknera/cecs200/phase2/contact.html
http://www.csulb.edu/~sgaknera/cecs200/phase2/css/mainstylesheet.css

as you can see in ie5/6/7/8 the state field doesnt display inline with others. anyone help me? thanks

got my code from:
http://realworldstyle.com/forms.html

abduraooft
12-17-2008, 10:36 AM
You are using an extra(?) floated span with every input element. Have a look at http://www.alistapart.com/articles/prettyaccessibleforms .

gax
12-17-2008, 10:40 AM
yes but i have a time frame to get this done is there a simple fix for this? or maybe code to fix it better?

dudeshouse
12-17-2008, 10:52 AM
What about just removing the floats on the 3 spans... they should just stay inline...

dudeshouse
12-17-2008, 10:53 AM
Oh, and give the spans widths to keep the layout...

abduraooft
12-17-2008, 01:07 PM
What about just removing the floats on the 3 spans... they should just stay inline...

Oh, and give the spans widths to keep the layout...
Not possible! <span> is an inline element and thus we can't apply a width/height to it. (though, when we apply a float, it'll behave like block element)

gax
12-17-2008, 02:18 PM
Not possible! <span> is an inline element and thus we can't apply a width/height to it. (though, when we apply a float, it'll behave like block element)

any other ideas?

abduraooft
12-17-2008, 02:36 PM
Applying a border (say border:1px solid red; ) to your span.formw reveals(in FF) that the width is not enough to occupy the input elements. With that said, have a try by

div.row span.formw
{
float: left;
width: 200px;
text-align: left;
margin-left: 15px;
//border:1px solid red;
}

gax
12-17-2008, 04:17 PM
Applying a border (say border:1px solid red; ) to your span.formw reveals(in FF) that the width is not enough to occupy the input elements. With that said, have a try by

div.row span.formw
{
float: left;
width: 200px;
text-align: left;
margin-left: 15px;
//border:1px solid red;
}

while this looks good it didnt fix the issue
any other ideas?

abduraooft
12-17-2008, 04:23 PM
while this looks good it didnt fix the issueWhat you mean?

jerry62704
12-17-2008, 05:01 PM
Why not give your select a margin-left?

gax
12-17-2008, 06:17 PM
Why not give your select a margin-left?
didnt think aobut that ill let u guys know thanks for help



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum