View Full Version : I'm new to Flash Programming, help me get started :)

Noobtaculus
12-10-2008, 03:48 AM
Okay, as the title of this thread may serve to indicate; I'm a Flash nuoob. I did some animations in junior year of high school but for Flash, that's a bout it. Flash MX 2004, I think it was.
I know Java basics, but still learning.
I'm not sure if you people have heard, but Samsung is going to release a new PMP capable of running .swf files. The Samsung YP-P3 is a touch-screen oriented media player (particular features include Bluetooth capabilities -- similar to its predecessor, the YP-P2 and haptic touch feedback). It is apparently to be released next year, here are some pics of its Flash stuff:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/generationmp3/3027482578/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/generationmp3/3027482706/
and somewhere in this video it is shown, the vids longish by the way :p
http://www.dailymotion.com/gmp3/video/x7fuud_preview-samsung-p3-par-gmp3_tech
I wanna get some basics down for programming apps and games in Flash.
If you don't want check the device, you need to know: that it's a 272X480 widescreen (touch) mp3 player.
Is it possible to code .swf files for this and can someone help me get started?
:) Thanks, in advance.

gnomeontherun
12-10-2008, 10:18 AM
There is a thread in the Flash forum with a lot of tutorials, but honestly if you want to really learn Flash, find a book that fits your needs best and purchase it. It will save you a lot of headaches, and will more than pay for itself if you actually read it through!

ricmetal
12-10-2008, 09:25 PM
true that
i read some of o'reilley's Actionscript 2.0 a few years ago
awesome read for a technical book

i advise you to experiment as you read or just read for fun
to confusing if you try and learn everything by reading it through without trying out the codes :D :p

Noobtaculus
12-13-2008, 12:11 AM