...

View Full Version : How does this site work?



Sim23_10
12-08-2008, 11:25 AM
Hi, i am starting to learn how to build sites and am finding sites all the time and wondering how they work.

This site in particular has caught my eyebecause it has the dynamic image resize.
(http://www.j-carrier.com/splash.php)

Can someone please explain in the simplest terms they can what sort of structure is behind it and what I would need to build similar.

Thanks in advance

Sim

_Aerospace_Eng_
12-08-2008, 01:36 PM
What site?

Sim23_10
12-08-2008, 03:55 PM
oh now i feel pretty stupid

its http://www.j-carrier.com/splash.php

Thanks again

mlseim
12-08-2008, 04:15 PM
Looks like they did the whole site with Flash.

_Aerospace_Eng_
12-08-2008, 06:24 PM
Are you talking about just the background image on the front page or are you talking about the actual site that has the rest of the photos?

Millenia
12-08-2008, 06:24 PM
Yeah. They have just used Flash for all their site.
I find it slow loading and frankly annoying...

Check this sticky for some Flash tutorials. (http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?t=18405)

(But the image resize thing is pretty cool)

_Aerospace_Eng_
12-08-2008, 07:51 PM
The image resize thing on the front page can be done with html/css.

Sim23_10
12-08-2008, 10:09 PM
Thanks everyone, yeah it's the front page I'm interested in as that was something that i hadn't seen before.

Sim

_Aerospace_Eng_
12-08-2008, 10:32 PM
http://www.cssplay.co.uk/layouts/background.html

Sim23_10
12-08-2008, 11:41 PM
Hi, thanks for the links. This is how far i've managed to get

www.simdavis.com/test/index.html

There are a couple of things that bug me compared to the website i mentioned. There is a strange border around the edge that i don't know how to change.

The image on the site i mentioned will load in the background before showing itself.


Sim

_Aerospace_Eng_
12-09-2008, 05:17 AM
Did you upload your reset.css?

You could use javascript to try and hide the image in the div and then onload change the divs display to block.

Sim23_10
12-09-2008, 09:32 AM
No I hadn't, thanks aerospace. Done it now and it has got rid of the scroll bars :)

http://www.simdavis.com/test/index.html

The main design elements that i wanted to be able to reflect from the other site were;
- Full browser picture
- When image is loading then the browser is just black
- the image displayed is random

are these possible with the html/css method that i'm using?

Thanks again

Sim

_Aerospace_Eng_
12-09-2008, 05:49 PM
You'll need to change the background color to black. For the random image you'll need to use javascript or some kind of server side language so in short no not with just html/css.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum