...

View Full Version : Weird problem in internet explorer - White highlight line through center of page



domdino
11-14-2008, 04:46 PM
I'm a macintosh boy and i'm trying to build a new website, the address where i'm building it is www.flysurfer-usa.com/home

I got my friend to have a look at it on a PC in internet explorer and theres a weird line through the middle of the page!!!??? Anyone know what could cause this? Never appears on my mac in firefox, opera, safari etc.

Thanks :)

Example attached!

Dom

voxecho
11-14-2008, 08:16 PM
remove near the bottom



<div id="bottom">
<div class="wrapper">
</div>
</div>




I'm a macintosh boy and i'm trying to build a new website, the address where i'm building it is www.flysurfer-usa.com/home

I got my friend to have a look at it on a PC in internet explorer and theres a weird line through the middle of the page!!!??? Anyone know what could cause this? Never appears on my mac in firefox, opera, safari etc.

Thanks :)

Example attached!

Dom

voxecho
11-14-2008, 08:22 PM
by the way... you have an error in your code on line 28



var sfEls = document.getElementById("horiznav").getElementsByTagName("LI");


personally i would suggest you do like this


var sfEls;
var holder = document.getElementById("horiznav");

if(holder){
sfEls = holder.getElementsByTagName("LI");
if(sfEls){
// .. loop through elements
}
}


this so that if it doesn't find the element you don't get an error... also, i would invest in a few try catch blocks (they're free, so use them :)

domdino
11-17-2008, 09:14 PM
Thanks for that guys :) will sort it out now

domdino
11-17-2008, 09:22 PM
Hmm this is joomla thing, i can't figure out where i change this code..... grr


by the way... you have an error in your code on line 28



var sfEls = document.getElementById("horiznav").getElementsByTagName("LI");


personally i would suggest you do like this


var sfEls;
var holder = document.getElementById("horiznav");

if(holder){
sfEls = holder.getElementsByTagName("LI");
if(sfEls){
// .. loop through elements
}
}


this so that if it doesn't find the element you don't get an error... also, i would invest in a few try catch blocks (they're free, so use them :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum