View Full Version : honest opinion, please

BobLewiston
11-12-2008, 10:13 PM
I was a programmer for 4 years ending 12 years ago. Back then it was all procedural, not object oriented. Now I'm 45. On the other hand, I'm bright and motivated (and for what it's worth, I've got a Bachelor's degree in engineering from 20 years ago). If I work hard and learn what I need to, is there any way in hell I can break back into programming? No doom and gloom, no "happy crap", just what do you think, can it be done?

AlexV
11-12-2008, 11:01 PM
For sure! With the appropriate courses, motivation and dedication everything is possible!

On a plus side, you have some programming background :)

Fou-Lu
11-13-2008, 09:52 AM
Pfft, won't be any problem. Programming is like riding a bike, you never forget how to program. You may forget how to use a language, but programming concept is the same.

OO is a piece of cake to use.
What was / were you're old languages?

primefalcon
11-13-2008, 10:30 AM
been major updates but syntax is by large the same, I'm bringing myself up on c++ now as well as bringing myself up into oop, and oop really is not the big scarey monster people think it is, if you know how to define your own functions oop is really just the next step

BobLewiston
11-13-2008, 09:54 PM
C (& some C++), before that Pascal, before that Fortan, Cobol & Basic

Millenia
11-13-2008, 10:08 PM
Pfft, won't be any problem. Programming is like riding a bike, you never forget how to program. You may forget how to use a language, but programming concept is the same.

OO is a piece of cake to use.
What was / were you're old languages?

I agree.
Programming as a concept is the same throughout any language, and you will never forget how to do it. You may forget the syntax, but if you know the concept of programming, you can learn any computer language with ease.

primefalcon
11-14-2008, 12:33 AM