...

View Full Version : IE won't render inline code



anthias
11-12-2008, 12:53 AM
I'm having trouble getting IE to render my code. It works wonderfully in FF.
I tried making a separate css sheet and referencing the info that way and also tried doing it inline. Neither made a difference.

There is a different stylesheet that controls the rest of the tables, so this is an override that I want to apply to just this one.

Why is it doing this and what do I need to do to make it render in both programs?

____________
<!-- start of table 04 -->



<li><a href="none">ABOUT ME
<!--[if IE 7]><!-->
</a>
<!--<![endif]-->

<table>


<ul>
<li style="border:10px solid black;
border-width:15px 5px 20px 5px;
background:#ddd;
color:white;
padding:10px 10px 10px 10px;
height:600px;">

<div style="background:#444;
border:1px solid #ddd;
border-color:#888 #000 #000 #888;
height:598px;
padding:0px 10px 0px 10px;">

<div>
<p>something about me</p>


</div>
</div>




</li>
</ul>

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<!--[if lte IE 7]>
</a>
<![endif]-->

</li>




<!-- end of table 04 -->
________________

itsallkizza
11-12-2008, 06:09 AM
The only two things that I know of (off the top of my head) that can explain this are:

1) DHTML - On the page load some javascript messes with the styles (I'm 99% this isn't your issue, I'm just including it for completeness).

or

2) The Cascade - If you have !important declarations in your stylesheet, they will take precedence over the inline styles.

There's nothing (strictly speaking) wrong with your code above, so the problem lies elsewhere. I'm sure someone will run a little rant about your IE7 anchor hack though - not only is it a browser check (not ideal), but you'd also be wrapping block elements in an inline tag, which is invalid code if you follow the w3 recommendations.

rangana
11-12-2008, 08:56 AM
You have an invalid code. Your snippet has a closing tr, tbody and td tags, but I can't see any opening of it:


.
.
.
</td></tr></tbody></table>


Also, ensure you have a valid Doctype (http://alistapart.com/articles/doctype).

Hope that helps.

Apostropartheid
11-12-2008, 04:36 PM
You do realize this is an incredibly bad way to do dropdowns, right? There are pure CSS versions which will do the job and are a lot easier to troubleshoot+read.

anthias
11-12-2008, 09:15 PM
You do realize this is an incredibly bad way to do dropdowns, right? There are pure CSS versions which will do the job and are a lot easier to troubleshoot+read.

I've posted it. The address is gingertown.org

The issue is in the Gingertown 2008 vs 2007. The past ones are just meant to show pictures. The current one I need to be able to write text. As I said, In FF it opens correctly, but in IE it doesn't. Ideas? I don't get paid for this so I just need to make it function correctly with as little work as possible :S

anthias
11-12-2008, 09:55 PM
You have an invalid code. Your snippet has a closing tr, tbody and td tags, but I can't see any opening of it:


.
.
.
</td></tr></tbody></table>


Also, ensure you have a valid Doctype (http://alistapart.com/articles/doctype).

Hope that helps.



Thanks, yeah I'm trying to work through things. It has a lot of errors when validating. I know a little html and css, but I'm learning most of this on the fly. There are relics from fiddling in a number of places.

anthias
11-13-2008, 02:58 PM
Anyone? I'm willing to try reworking it using only css, but someone will have to post a snippet or a site I can look at.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum