...

View Full Version : Would this be possible to do? If so, how do i do it? CSS Coding... help?



najkiie
11-07-2008, 07:18 PM
Hey, i recently installed my new vBulletin forum on my website (http://www.blubbz.com/forum/) and i need some help with styling the "thread bar"...

Keep reading please!
Thanks.:rolleyes:


Its hard to describe what i mean so i found another website that has the same thing that i want, and its also a vBulletin forum, just an older version.

Link to how i want it to look:
http://suprbay.org/


My forum:
http://www.blubbz.com/forum/


And no, im not trying to copy the forum, even tho it looks alot like it :/.

As you can see the suprbay.org forum has different colors on eatch thread..

like on this picture:
http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/1628/suprbayif7.png

Do you see what i mean?

Do you know how to do this?

On the vBulletin CSS there is two different CSS classes that i can change for the thread look....

if i use these settings (http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/3442/vbulletinoptionsig6.png) it will look like this: (http://img354.imageshack.us/img354/5272/mylookdi3.png)


Oh god i really hope YOU can help me with this!

Regards, Nike :):confused:

4B/75/73/41/
11-07-2008, 07:31 PM
May I ask, what all can you edit on vbulletin, HTML and CSS or just one of the two.?

najkiie
11-07-2008, 07:36 PM
May I ask, what all can you edit on vbulletin, HTML and CSS or just one of the two.?

I think its only css but im not sure, ive only been using it for a few days and its my first time using a vBulletin forum.
We can always try right? :)

4B/75/73/41/
11-07-2008, 07:48 PM
It is harder with CSS, but this should work edit this.

.thead {
-x-system-font:none;
background:#FFFFFF none repeat scroll 0 0;
color:#A5A5A5;
font-family:tahoma,verdana,geneva,lucida,'lucida grande',arial,helvetica,sans-serif;
font-size:11px;
font-size-adjust:none;
font-stretch:normal;
font-style:normal;
font-variant:normal;
font-weight:bold;
line-height:normal;
}
the forums that you want gray should have background:#C0C0C0, i hope this is what you wanted :)

najkiie
11-07-2008, 07:53 PM
It is harder with CSS, but this should work

the forums that you want gray should have background:#C0C0C0, i hope this is what you wanted :)


Could you plz tell me where i should paste the code? Should i post it into the "Extra CSS Attributes" field in the "First Alternating Color"??

Thanks for responding :)

4B/75/73/41/
11-07-2008, 07:58 PM
You Should not really past that any where, but edit the code that looks like that, in your CSS editor, i hope this makes sense ^_^

najkiie
11-07-2008, 08:06 PM
i dont think i can edit the code in another editor... or can i? I have dreamweaver... should i just connect to the forum's index.php page and edit/paste the code there?

4B/75/73/41/
11-07-2008, 08:08 PM
Sure you can edit the code in dreamweaver what ever works for you.

najkiie
11-07-2008, 08:17 PM
yea well, i have absolutly no idea how i can do this.

the entire forum is coded in php so i have like 30+ php pages in my forum directory, and one of them contains the css that i should edit -.^?

look at my remote folder... (http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/8950/screenshot5hp8.png)

najkiie
11-07-2008, 08:27 PM
helloo? are you still there? plz anyone respond ???????

4B/75/73/41/
11-08-2008, 02:24 AM
Well if they make it that hard to get to, maybe your should download seamonkey, that way you can edit the HTML

najkiie
11-08-2008, 10:48 AM
i have absolutley no idea of what seamonkey is but i just installed it and it looks like a really old version of internet explorer, its pretty cool.

''maybe your should download seamonkey, that way you can edit the HTML ''

how can i do that now? :)

and if i edit the site with seamonkey, will i edit it for everyone? Or will only i see the changes?

4B/75/73/41/
11-08-2008, 08:56 PM
The changes should be visible to everyone, i hope it works out for ya.:D

najkiie
11-11-2008, 02:49 PM
Thnx for the awesome tip! the program is great.

i can't edit the forum with it tho :/ I can edit it, but when i try to publish it it asks for the current webpage i want to save it to... like "index.html" or something... but i cant enter that becouse the forum reads information from several different php files :( I was connected correctly and so on, this is my only prob.


Any ideas?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum