View Full Version : need help with c++ CODE PLEASE

edbtzy
11-05-2008, 08:00 PM
I am new to the C++ programming and i have an assignment due but not sure where to start and how to actually set the program up to do what is needed...

it says to write a program that reads integers that the user inputs (ex: 3475) then outputs each individual integer (ex: 3 4 7 5 ). THEN gives the sum of the numbers...can anybody help me out please ???

also i just started learning about functions and i believe we have to use IF, ELSE, DO statements in order to do this.

tomws
11-05-2008, 08:47 PM
Do you know cin, cout, and the integer data type? If so, the first step might be to up a little program to read an integer and then write it. Then you can figure out the logic necessary in between there to do what you want with the integer. One suggestion for that part: think about how you might get at each digit if you were doing it on a calculator that uses integer division.

edbtzy
11-05-2008, 08:54 PM
i know all about cin and cout and integer data types...what im trying to figure out now is how to get the program to output each individual number that was entered (no matter how long the number is). therefore i was thinking i would need some type of loop (while/if ect) knowing that, what code can i use for this to work...

also, i need to have the program add up all the integers that was inputed aka another loop???

tomws
11-05-2008, 09:08 PM
I understood the question the first time: what you're asking is for someone to do your homework for you. I won't, but I'll offer the same suggestion as the first time: think about how you might get at each digit if you were doing it on a calculator that uses integer division. If your instructor has discussed mathematical operations (integer division in particular), you already have the required fundamentals. The only thing left is solving the problem and my hint gives a good push in the right direction.

edbtzy
11-05-2008, 09:17 PM