...

View Full Version : Search results within archives not working



mamamia
11-03-2008, 06:29 PM
There seems to be a problem with the site search: if results are archived threads, then the links for these threads are broken.

The problem is that the '?' in the link should really be a '/'. For example the result comes back as:

http://www.codingforums.com/archive/index.php?t-94316.html

Whereas, it should really be:

http://www.codingforums.com/archive/index.php/t-94316.html

--mamamia

WA
11-15-2008, 04:09 AM
Do you mean when searching using the search box at the top of the page (Google)? For archived threads, I get the 2nd, correct version:

http://www.codingforums.com/result.htm?cx=partner-pub-3356683755662088%3Ai21tla-3q3e&cof=FORID%3A9&ie=ISO-8859-1&q=archive&sa=Search#948

abduraooft
11-15-2008, 07:32 AM
Do you mean when searching using the search box at the top of the page (Google)? For archived threads, I get the 2nd, correct version:

http://www.codingforums.com/result.htm?cx=partner-pub-3356683755662088%3Ai21tla-3q3e&cof=FORID%3A9&ie=ISO-8859-1&q=archive&sa=Search#948
No.

Eg: http://www.codingforums.com/result.htm?cx=partner-pub-3356683755662088%3Ai21tla-3q3e&cof=FORID%3A9&ie=ISO-8859-1&q=CSS+archive&sa=Search#837

The above search gives a result having a target url

www.codingforums.com/archive/index.php/t-129222.html, which is correct

But there are a lot of other links in the format

www.codingforums.com/archive/index.php?t-413.html
codingforums.com/archive/index.php?t-53390.html

which are not pointing to the correct page. I always edit such urls to
showthread.php?t= format to get the desired page, which may not be possible for new members

Hope this is clear.

Thanks

WA
11-15-2008, 07:59 AM
Hi:
Thanks for the clarification. I see it now. I'll try and get that fixed.

WA
11-16-2008, 10:53 PM
This should be fixed now. I've set up a redirect of the old URL structure to the new. If you still have issues, let me know.

abduraooft
11-17-2008, 06:14 AM
Just wondering how google bots indexed those faulty(?) urls, without this current fix?

WA
11-17-2008, 06:32 AM
On the old server, the archive URLs use the "?" character. After the move over, it automatically changed to "/". I took a look in the VB source code, and apparently vBulletin decides based on the server capabilities which character to use.

abduraooft
11-17-2008, 07:26 AM
I took a look in the VB source code, and apparently vBulletin decides based on the server capabilities which character to use. wow! Intelligent vBulletin :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum