View Full Version : Need Help Making Drop Down Changes

10-27-2008, 10:37 PM
Hello All, :D

I am new to coding and looking to self teach myself with the help of this forum so I can design my own web site. I am looking for the best solution for searching a database. The database will for example contain USA States and Cities with the final result being an item or thing etc. that the search criteria points to.

Let's say for example I want to know where all the Dentists are in the State of Maryland. I found this example below and It creates the option to choose a state however how do you make it accept your choice once chosen and go to the next webpage for the next lookup or whatever you decide to have it do next.

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=unicode">
<meta content="MSHTML 6.00.2900.3429" name="GENERATOR"></head>
<body><select name="state" size="1">
<option value="NA" selected="">Select A State</option>
<option value="Blank">--------------------</option>
<option value="AL">Alabama</option>
<option value="AK">Alaska</option>
<option value="AZ">Arizona</option>
<option value="AR">Arkansas</option>
<option value="CA">California</option>
</select> </body></html>

Thanks for any assistance... I am sure there is a simple answer to this :o

10-28-2008, 09:22 AM
Which is your serverside script?

10-29-2008, 05:47 PM
As I originally stated I am new to coding and do not know what you are asking about Server Side Script.

I basically View Sources of web pages already published and copy and paste some code into the CoffeeCupHTML Editor that I am currently using to see what the code actually prevails. By doing so I get the jist of what the HTML tags and code all does. I am no where near educated yet and doing my best to learn it.

I did however get an answer on another forum. Thanks for trying to help.