...

View Full Version : Please check in IE6



bz78
10-27-2008, 01:29 PM
Hello,
I've had some reports that some PC users are encountering loading issues with some pages that contain flash /javascript. If you have time, can you please visit a few pages on this site (http://www.brinjac.com) and let me know of any problems encountered? The design is established, I just want some feedback on any errors or problems anyone encounters (particularly IE PC 5.5-6). Thank you.

tomws
10-27-2008, 02:56 PM
VMWare and some old Windows install discs make a good tool for this.

IE 5.5 on Win 98, no flash. Incidentally, the dropdown menus are offset to the right by half the parent width. Annoying, but functional. Probably 5.5's broken CSS handling.

IE 6 on Win 98, no flash.

IE 6 in Win XP, no flash and hangs with '1 item remaining' shown in the status bar at the bottom. Dropdown menus don't work - maybe because the page doesn't finish loading.

Also, no flash in Opera 8.54 or 9.51 (Win XP), but that could be my setup since I only test layout with them.

OK on:
FF 1.5 Win 98
FF 2 Win XP
FF 3 Win XP
Safari 3.1 WinXP
IE 7 Win XP

bz78
10-27-2008, 03:46 PM
thanks for the feedback. I'm trying to figure out what is causing the flash and loading difficulties. I use the swfobject javascript to load the flash which is supposed to be the standards compliant way to do so and the page validates...
Do you know why the flash loading hangs like that?

tomws
10-27-2008, 03:54 PM
No, I can't help with that as I don't use Flash. Maybe someone with some experience will stop in and have some advice.

gnomeontherun
10-27-2008, 04:49 PM
SWFObject is great, but you aren't really using it on this page?

Also the Flash is not huge, but it could be slimmer. Do you have a preloader in it?

bz78
10-27-2008, 04:50 PM
I just switched out swfobject to see if that was the problem...I might try another script called FlashReplace (http://www.robertnyman.com/2007/04/19/flashreplace-a-light-weight-javascript-to-insert-flash-movies-into-your-web-page/). No, I don't have a preloader. I could look into how to build one of those.

_Aerospace_Eng_
10-27-2008, 05:58 PM
Other than the menu being offset in IE5.5 everything seems to work fine in IE5.5, IE6, IE7, and IE8b2

bz78
10-27-2008, 08:10 PM
hm, any idea what I can do to rectify the menu problem in 5.5? I have less than a percent of users visiting in that browser but still, I'd like to know how to fix it.

I think the flash is interfering with my use of coda slider on this page (http://www.brinjac.com/mep.html) in IE6. So, here is the test page (http://www.brinjac.com/meptest.html) version without flash.

And here is a revised swfobject version of the home page (http://www.brinjac.com/testindex.html). Is this working in IE6, Win98 and XP now?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum