View Full Version : New to Javascript; Problem with document.write coding

fjardis86
10-20-2008, 07:13 PM
I'm taking a beginning class at my school for Javascript. My teacher refuses to answer e-mails so I cannot get in touch with him to fix my problem. My assignment was to prompt a user to enter 5 integers, and then have a browser display the largest of the 5 integers. I was then asked to prompt the user to enter 1 more integer and if it was equal to one of the 5 other integers, display a statement respectively.

What happens with my script is once the user puts in the integers, the browser displays every integer, and also both statements (this integer is NOT equal/equal to the other integers.) I'm sure its a very simple problem, but I am a complete noob with coding, so I don't know what to do to just have the browser display the LARGEST integer, not every integer, as well as display ONE statement, not both.

Here is the code:
</html>
</body>

<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">

var firstnumber = Number(prompt("Enter the first number"));
var secondnumber = Number(prompt("Enter the second number"));
var thirdnumber = Number(prompt("Enter the third number"));
var fourthnumber = Number(prompt("Enter the fourth number"));
var fifthnumber = Number(prompt("Enter the fifth number"));

if ( (firstnumber > secondnumber) && (firstnumber > thirdnumber) && (firstnumber > fourthnumber) && (firstnumber > fifthnumber) );
{
document.write(firstnumber);
}

if ( (secondnumber > firstnumber) && (secondnumber > thirdnumber) && (secondnumber > fourthnumber) && (secondnumber > fifthnumber) );
{
document.write(secondnumber);
}

if ( (thirdnumber > firstnumber) && (thirdnumber > secondnumber) && (thirdnumber > fourthnumber) && (thirdnumber > fifthnumber) );
{
document.write(thirdnumber);
}

if ( (fourthnumber > firstnumber) && (fourthnumber > secondnumber) && (fourthnumber > thirdnumber) && (fourthnumber > fifthnumber) );
{
document.write(fourthnumber);
}