View Full Version : IP Address

02-20-2003, 12:51 AM
I have already registered a domain name, who allocates/ gives/authenticates/supplies me with an IP address to use for my Web Server at home? Is that something the domain registering company should do ? is it normally paid for ?

02-20-2003, 01:07 AM
I think it's normally handled by your ISP (Internet Service Provider), that is who you connect to the internet with. To get a "static" IP, yes, there is usually an additional cost.

02-20-2003, 01:33 AM
Not all ISP's offer static IP's either.

02-20-2003, 10:41 AM
I do not have an ISP because I will be setting up the Webserver in my house - I want to be able to connect directly to the Internet without an ISP.

02-20-2003, 01:07 PM
No ISP?!! So you want a direct connection to the backbone? That's gonna cost you a couple of grand a year, unless i'm really mistaking!

02-20-2003, 01:24 PM
Ronald, perhaps what I need then is simply for an ISP to route web requests for my domain name to an IP address on my machine. They would have to let me use/rent one of their Ip addresses ? do they do this ? any idea of the cost or a good one to ask for this service?

02-20-2003, 03:41 PM
Try asking your current ISP, then looking at whatever local ones you have. If you go beyond a local connection, there may be extra charges involved for long distance as well.

02-20-2003, 04:03 PM
The usual way, that is if you don't have forementioned connection to a backbone, is a (high speed) connection through an ISP. Most ISPs dynamically assign IP addresses to cut down on the number of adresses needed to service all connected users (since not all users generally are connected at the same time).
Using a static IP address and keeping open a connection for a much longer time then average, if not permanently, puts a much greater strain on ISP resources. If they allow it at all, they'll probably want you to pay more for it then they require from "regular" customers.
As PB&J suggested, best is to contact your ISP about it, or select one based on these requirements if you don't have one yet.

Although running you own server has obvious benefits, don't dismiss using the services of a hosting provider just yet. It doesn't need to be that expensive, and they'll take over the hassle of server maintenance.

02-20-2003, 04:17 PM
Ronald, thanks for that, will try a few ISPs. I'm going down this route as I want to learn how to set up a server and don't want to have to check for ISP compatiability just because I want to use a particular piece of software. I inderstand that if I use buisness broadband with Ntl in UK I will get static IP addreses from them but I wolud like to have practice runs before I start that.

02-21-2003, 09:44 AM
IP addressing with broadband on ntl is supposed to be dynamic with a renewal every 4 hours. You can have a leased line from their business side but you'd be looking at 2.5 thousand pounds per year minimum.

BUT, there are ntl broadband IP addresses that have been the same for a very long time, 1 year plus!!!

If you contact your ISP and give them your IP address they should route your domain name to it. If you IP address is not staic you'll need to tell em every time it changes.

Note that running a web server via ntl's broadband is not part of the AUP, see http://www.ntlworld.com/help/aup/index.html

02-21-2003, 11:22 AM
Thanks for that tommysphone, Ntl business broadband have assuered me they do provide statis IP addresses - but i will get this in writing before i run with them.

I checked out the link you sent me - that appeared to relate to the non-business side?

02-27-2003, 05:27 PM
Sorry, assumed private. Business WILL be fixed IP but feel free to get it in writing.

This might be of use http://business.ntl.com/en/productsandservices/productdetail.jhtml?ProductId=prod310007

02-27-2003, 05:36 PM
cheers tommysphone, I am still on the look out for any ISP that will give a fixed ip address for a normal line so I can test the webserver before paying ntl a shed load of money for business broadband.