...

View Full Version : Site runs slow in Firefox, Fast in Safari



samuurai
10-02-2008, 10:30 PM
I look after a site: www.aquacouture.co.uk

all the lightbox divs etc fade in and out silky smooth in safari... in firefox it runs like a dog... I don't know where to start to try to bugfix this.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Beren

samuurai
10-03-2008, 03:46 PM
Strangely, even IE6 works faster than FF3 does.

samuurai
10-03-2008, 05:30 PM
$40 for the person who fixes it!

shedokan
10-03-2008, 06:17 PM
you have some 404 errors in the images:
http://www.aquacouture.co.uk/imagesx/1.gif
http://www.aquacouture.co.uk/imagesx/loading_ani2.gif

then try to compress your scripts using php so the users see's it compressed but on the server it's viewable.

use this:
start:

<?php
header('Content-type: text/css');
ob_start("compress");
function compress($buffer) {
// remove comments
$buffer = preg_replace('!/\*[^*]*\*+([^/][^*]*\*+)*/!', '', $buffer);
// remove tabs, spaces, newlines, etc.
$buffer = str_replace(array("\r\n", "\r", "\n", "\t", ' ', ' ', ' '), '', $buffer);
return $buffer;
}
?>
end:

<?php ob_end_flush();?>

change header('Content-type: text/css'); to header('Content-type: text/javascript'); for javascript.

and if you can use htaccess use this so you don't need to change the css to php file:

<Files screen.css>
SetHandler application/x-httpd-php
</Files>

where screen.css is your css file.

hope I helped.

samuurai
10-03-2008, 07:24 PM
Fantastic.. Thanks a lot :)

I have fixed the broken links in the next version..

all things considered, once it's loaded, those things won't really affect the speed at which div's open and close will they?

Aren't those things are more likely to affect load speed ? I have a fairly limited knowledge of JS, so I may be completely wrong :)

Arty Effem
10-04-2008, 01:30 AM
$40 for the person who fixes it!The problem is that you're updating a huge screen area and the rendering engine just can't keep up. On some machines it will be slow on all browsers. Ideally you should abandon updating the entire background in favour of stepping the opacity of positioned images of the models, although this would require them to have transparent backgrounds.

The best fix I could come up with was to increase the opacity increment and the stepping interval. Is this (http://scripterlative.com/test/aqua/index-2.html) a satisfactory improvement before I remove it? (Ignore the errors they're just caused by a missing file)

samuurai
10-04-2008, 08:41 AM
Yes! That's great.. I don't care if the pictures in the background don't fade in as smoothly..

will the other parts of the site, like the online shop have the jerkier stepping also?

Arty Effem
10-04-2008, 11:35 AM
Yes! That's great.. I don't care if the pictures in the background don't fade in as smoothly..

will the other parts of the site, like the online shop have the jerkier stepping also?I don't know but you need to substitute the current version of 'index_page_bk.js' for:

http://scripterlative.com/test/aqua/js/index_page_bk.js

samuurai
10-04-2008, 12:04 PM
Cool - I did that.. I think it's improved it slightly.

I wonder if it's possible to just stop the background from cycling if there's a page open in front of it, then resume it when there are no pages open.

samuurai
10-07-2008, 10:59 AM
I PM'd both of you guys !!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum