...

View Full Version : Page reload



kalleballe
06-16-2002, 04:15 PM
Hello!

I'm looking for a script that can reload a page immidietly when the surfer enters it, but only ONCE.

JohnKrutsch
06-16-2002, 04:26 PM
You could try something like this but it kind of depends on how you are already using the querystring:

if(document.location.search.substr(1)!="reloaded")location=location.href+"?reloaded"

kalleballe
06-16-2002, 04:48 PM
thank you! it's working perfect! :thumbsup:

is it possible to get rid of the ?reloaded extension at the url? it's not important, just want to know if it's possible :)

JohnKrutsch
06-17-2002, 12:57 AM
Not using this method, thats how it knows it has been reloaded once.

glenngv
06-17-2002, 02:02 AM
there is another way of doing this.

<head>
<script>

if (window.name!="reloaded") doRefresh();

function doRefresh(){
window.name="reloaded";
location.reload();
}
</script>
</head>

if the current window or frame is not a target of any link or form, then you can do the trick with window.name. This property persists even if the page has unloaded.


Originally posted by kalleballe
thank you! it's working perfect! :thumbsup:

is it possible to get rid of the ?reloaded extension at the url? it's not important, just want to know if it's possible :)

JohnKrutsch
06-17-2002, 02:20 AM
Nice one!


Originally posted by glenngv
there is another way of doing this.

<head>
<script>

if (window.name!="reloaded") doRefresh();

function doRefresh(){
window.name="reloaded";
location.reload();
}
</script>
</head>

if the current window or frame is not a target of any link or form, then you can do the trick with window.name. This property persists even if the page has unloaded.

FJbrian
06-17-2002, 08:41 PM
why not just use a meta tag to refresh the page?
I have a similar question in the cgi board so....maybe this is my answer:)
Oh no wait that would referesh the page multiple times....

oh well

John you work for theplanet.com?

meems
07-21-2002, 05:37 PM
I am wondering how to use this reload once script when a back button is pressed? Certain select boxes disappear and have to do a refresh but only once.
Thanks

FJbrian
07-21-2002, 06:12 PM
not sure ya can
of course you could axe the browser toolbars and add in your own back button to do this

fitchic77
09-12-2002, 08:23 PM
if(document.location.search.substr(1)!="reloaded")location=location.href+"?reloaded"

I used this above. The problem is that I have to use the browsers BACK button to get back to the original page...this doesn't work for that...

any ideas??

Thanks!!
Andrea :eek:

FJbrian
09-13-2002, 05:09 AM
boy is this easy and yet I'm drawing a blank
go offline and type in a webpage URL
hold your mouse over the text part that says "Back"
it's history-1 or something like that

sorry, overtired.
use that code

hope this blather helps

fitchic77
09-13-2002, 01:17 PM
my boss won't let me use a back button...it has to be the browsers button...

I'm stumped:

See it in action at:

http://209.118.243.140/test/golfpac3/index.cfm?reloaded


Thanks,
Andrea

fitchic77
09-13-2002, 03:56 PM
Got it

location.replace(targetURL);

This doesn't record any history in the browser...so I have a redirect page from the posted page which does this piece of code...works great.

see it if you'd like:
http://209.118.243.140/test/golfpac3/index.cfm


THANKS AGAIN
:p

FJbrian
09-14-2002, 02:30 AM
hey fitchick,
if you ever start an affiliate program, lemme know
I'd imagine I could "peddle your wares" thru my site

fitchic77
09-14-2002, 03:01 AM
Give me your email address. Our live address is:

http://www.golfpactravel.com


I'm not sure what you are hinting too, so drop me an email:

andreafowler@aol.com


Thanks,
Andrea

gameover
02-17-2005, 04:35 AM
if(document.location.search.substr(1)!="reloaded")location=location.href+"?reloaded"
sorry to ask but I'm a JS newbie here.
Would like to ask what's "document.location.search.substr(1)" ?
Or can you show me the website that explains this ?

glenngv
02-17-2005, 05:26 AM
The more correct form is window.location rather than document.location, although browsers also support the latter.

Anyway, here's the reference about location.search:

http://www.devguru.com/Technologies/ecmascript/quickref/location_search.html

and substr:

http://www.devguru.com/Technologies/ecmascript/quickref/string.html (scroll down to substr)

gameover
02-17-2005, 07:03 AM
Ok I got it. Very much appreciated.
Thanks very much for the swift reply.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum