...

View Full Version : Unspecified Error, aka why IE can perform lurid acts upon my person



ohgod
09-24-2008, 02:56 PM
Is there any way to get decent error reporting out of IE?

I have scripts that run great in firefox... monitored with firebug and everything else with NO errors that are throwing "Unspecified Error" in IE on a line that DOESN'T EXIST.


I'm using scriptaculous' drag 'n drop with prototype. And like I said... works great in firefox. IE? /fail

Does anyone have any ideas or tips for troubleshooting mystery errors like this?

Kor
09-24-2008, 03:06 PM
Is there any way to get decent error reporting out of IE?

I have scripts that run great in firefox... monitored with firebug and everything else with NO errors that are throwing "Unspecified Error" in IE on a line that DOESN'T EXIST.


I'm using scriptaculous' drag 'n drop with prototype. And like I said... works great in firefox. IE? /fail

Does anyone have any ideas or tips for troubleshooting mystery errors like this?
No way. IE is famous for his primitive error console.

Still, there might be another solution: learn javascript and write your own codes. Don't use Scriptaculous, JQuery, Prototype or whichever framework. No framework/library in the world will ever be able to cover crossbrowser all the coders' needs, all the time, all over. And when a framework "cracks", it really hurts because it is almost impossible to debug a framework. It is huge and absurdly intricate.

ohgod
09-24-2008, 03:40 PM
i totally understand what you mean... and i sorta agree. but just because i don't understand why my car is making a funny noise doesn't meant i want to build my own car from scratch. i would slap an error code reader on there and look it up in the hanes manual.

Kor
09-24-2008, 03:44 PM
Show us a link to a test page, maybe we could do something...

In coding job, there is no ready-made "car". Frameworks are surrogates. There is no professional way to avoid learning javascript.

ohgod
09-24-2008, 03:57 PM
i know, but i'm not a professional. nor do i intend to put that idea out there haha.

i don't get paid for any of it. i'm just a volunteer doing what i can to help some folks out.

http://ims.tssar.com/login.php

the page is private, but i'll pm you some generic creds so you can see what i mean.

ohgod
09-24-2008, 04:46 PM
well, i've managed to tinker with it enough that the error is now an 'Object Expected'.

moot i suppose, since it still won't tell me where or why

ohgod
09-24-2008, 06:45 PM
not sure if it will ever help anyone in the future, but just in case: after some research i find that IE gets all upset if you manually update the dom and then try to use those draggable and droppable elements afterwards. to help this i added a line to my script that removes all the drag\drop elements and then recreates them after the update. while this helps maybe 75% of the time i do still receive the unspecified error periodically. but hey, at least it works a few times before pooping the bed now.

Kor
09-24-2008, 06:54 PM
At a first glace (might be or might be not the source of your problems, but it is an error, definitely): You have two contradictory code lines: Doctype and declaration.


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">



Your Doctype is HTML, while your declaration is XHTML. Should be either HTML (without an xmlns declaration) or XHTML with and XHTML Doctype, such as:


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">

ohgod
09-24-2008, 07:37 PM
ah, whoops. an old artifact... not sure how i managed that.

removed the xml line.

as might be expected, the error continues after a few drag\drops.

Kor
09-24-2008, 07:47 PM
I can not reproduce the error you are talking about. I am able to drag'n'drop without error (IE7/XP SP3).



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum