View Full Version : Resize Geocities Ads??

07-05-2002, 09:54 PM
Is it possible to resize the ads that are placed on your pages by them?

I have a popup window that has been resized and opened automatically, onload of the homepage.

The problem is that the Geocities ad is covering 85% of the popup... Can I resize the ad without breaking a term of agreement?

07-05-2002, 09:56 PM
Home Page :

Notice the Geocities Ad on the Popped Up window.

07-05-2002, 11:41 PM
Somehting tells me you have not been with Geocities, or had much experience with it, for very long. If you look at the add really quick, you will notice an arrow pointing up. Click on it, then click on the X that repalces it and the add disappears... that simple ;)

07-06-2002, 04:38 PM
Thanks for your very insightful sarcasim but I knew that much already.. I don't think that I clerified what I was asking ...

Is there a way to automatically make the ad minimized or not?

07-06-2002, 05:45 PM
Originally posted by richard_r
Is there a way to automatically make the ad minimized or not?

That is venturing into a violation of your T.O.S. - Geocities makes their money by showing the advertisements on the page by default. I consider it rather thoughtful of them to allow users to minimize it. By taking advantage of it, you are cutting their revenue.

I'm going to leave this thread open for now, in case I misinterpretted it. But I'd be very careful to clarify your intentions here.

07-07-2002, 09:12 PM
I was only curious if it was possible to make the ad smaller, not completely hidden...

But thanks for the warning...

Thanks for all the help..! :thumbsup: