...

View Full Version : Ajax File Tree



ubh
09-04-2008, 01:01 AM
Hi I would like to have a file tree that displays directory's on my web server, so I found this guy out there on the net.

http://abeautifulsite.net/notebook.php?article=58

It comes with jquery and jquery.easing scripts for directory open and close effects and also comes with pre-made server side connector scripts so you can use your server-side language of choice.

The problem how ever is after I try and run the script on my web server with the connector being PHP for my server side language (appache2.2/PHP5/MySQL5) it never works.

I get a PHP error:

Undefined variable: root on line 21

Has anyone ever gotten this script to work before and or knows what the problem with it is?

Thanks.

ohgod
09-04-2008, 04:29 PM
i use his php file tree in a number of places. i don't use the jquery version because i run prototype and don't feel like sorting out misc conflicts between frameworks.

the guy has some nice stuff, i gotta say. works great.



anyway, it sounds like you don't have your root folder set up correctly.

ubh
09-05-2008, 01:01 AM
Hi ohgod,

Here is my code on the client side.

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC '-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN' 'http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd'>
<html xmlns='http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml'>
<head>
<meta http-equiv='Content-Type' content='text/html; charset=iso-8859-1' />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<script src='jquery.js' type='text/javascript'></script>
<script src='jquery.easing.js' type='text/javascript'></script>
<script src='jqueryFileTree.js' type='text/javascript'></script>
<link href='jqueryFileTree.css' rel='stylesheet' type='text/css' media='screen'>
<script type='text/javascript'>
$(document).ready
(
function()
{


$('#fileTreeDemo_3').fileTree
(
{
root: '/demo/',
script: 'http://localhost/application/scripts/fileTree/connectors/jqueryFileTree.php',
folderEvent: 'click',
expandSpeed: 750,
collapseSpeed: 750,
expandEasing: 'easeOutBounce',
collapseEasing: 'easeOutBounce',
loadMessage: 'Un momento...'
},
function(file)
{
alert(file);
}
);

}

);

</script>
</head>

<body>



<div class='example'>

<div id='fileTreeDemo_3' class='demo'>
</div>
</div>

</body>
</html>


Here is a screenshot of my folder setup. Notice I infact do have a "demo/" folder that has test subfolders and images. But I still get this PHP error.

http://www.geocities.com/ubhiceist/filesetup.jpg

If you would like to take a look at my files for me and test this out your self PLEASE it would help me out alot!!
CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD MY FILES (http://www.geocities.com/ubhiceist/problemFileTree2.zip)

ohgod
09-05-2008, 09:02 PM
it sounds like you don't have your root folder set up correctly

you really need to be checking this if it's displaying a directory too high...

try root: 'demo/' without the leading slash

ubh
09-06-2008, 02:43 AM
Thats just the thing I have tried every possible combination.

/demo/
demo/
/demo
demo


/fileTree/demo/
fileTree/demo/
/fileTree/demo
filetTree/demo

but nothing works. It just keeps saying error on line 21 in my php file root not defined... But if its working fine on your end, then I have to suspect that its my php install somehow.

I have never had any problems from my php before, I even run phpmyadmin for MySQL and I never get any hickups like this.

Anyways I will do further investigations.

ubh
09-06-2008, 12:44 PM
I found the problem folks!

it was my php.ini file and its error reporting enviroment.

once I changed it to:


display_errors = (E_ALL ^ E_NOTICE)

everything works perfect.

Thanks and remember when you read a Apache/PHP install tutorial and they provide a link to information on further setting up your PHP environment READ IT!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum