View Full Version : text scroller which gets the data from database

02-14-2003, 01:58 AM
hi all

I was wondering if anyone has done a text scrolling something like scrolling news without using marquee tag?

I want my site to be viewed by cross browsers, and other thing which makes it different from simple javascript text scrollers is that I want the text to be read from Access database as far as it needs to be dynamic.


02-14-2003, 11:20 AM
well heres a "cross browser" marquee script on dynamicdrive.com:


as for getting it from a database, you'de just use what ever language your using (ASP?) and print it onto the page in the "marqueecontent" variable...

does that help? any problems? :thumbsup:

02-17-2003, 09:50 PM
well thanks but basically what the link says is it is rather a javascript than a basic marquee tag where it needs to be supported by ASP to make it read the data from the database which I think can not be done!

Any other solutions?

02-17-2003, 10:39 PM
"without using marquee tag?"

"... basic marquee tag where it needs to be supported by ASP "

i think ive got the wrong end of the stick... so do you want it with or without the <marquee> tag? surely you could just put <marquee> (include the content from the database) </marquee>... and if you dont want to use the marquee tag... then... umm... unless anyone has a script to make a <div> behave like a <marquee> then that could be a little trickey...

02-17-2003, 10:50 PM
well if you read my question carefully I have already mentioned that I don't wanna use <marquee> which is not cross browser !

Then you advised me this web site which turned to be javascript where I have told that there is millions of javascript codes for that but the think is you can not use ASP where you suggessted and it was marqueecontext I think....

So as a conclusion it was a javascript which in my case needs to be combined with ASP to read the context from the database...

I am looking for any other ways where it doesn't need any javascript or even it does a way of combining javascript with ASP.

Hope it is more clear now...