...

View Full Version : Need you help



akhlaq768
08-13-2008, 01:57 PM
can someone look at my website and let me know how i can make improvements?

if you load up the code... you will see its very simple...

i just want to jazz it up a bit more... im open to suggestions... let me know what you think?

effpeetee
08-13-2008, 03:16 PM
You're in the wrong section.

Try this one. (http://www.codingforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)

Perhaps a moderator will move it for you.

Frank

PS You need a Doctype as the first line of your code. It is not an optional extra.

akhlaq768
08-13-2008, 04:56 PM
cheers mate

jcdevelopment
08-13-2008, 05:03 PM
You need some CSS. Alot more of it atleast. All i am seeing is a website that goes straight down. Add a menu at the top along with a header. You will probably need more color than what you have. go here (http://www.designmeltdown.com) for some inspiration on colors and design.

Also this is a great site (http://www.csszengarden.com)

You will need a doctype (http://www.alistapart.com/articles/doctype/) as well so go here and check out which one fits you correctly.

Let us know if you need help, thats what we are here for!

akhlaq768
08-13-2008, 05:08 PM
thanks mate, great advice, i'll start on making the alterations.

akhlaq768
08-13-2008, 05:11 PM
i like the background of this site http://www.addnoise.nl/

how do i use something like that for me?

jcdevelopment
08-13-2008, 05:21 PM
well all they did was add that background to thier body and repeated it across and 100% height like so



body {
background:#FFFFFF url(../images/bodyback.jpg) repeat-x scroll 0 0;
color:#606060;
font-family:Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;
font-size:11px;
height:100%;
line-height:18px;
margin:0;
padding:0;
}


Highlighted is the image!

akhlaq768
08-13-2008, 05:29 PM
I've typed the following code.....

and it doesn't work


<!DOCTYPE HTML SYSTEM>
<head><title>IPSTAR and OPSTAR Training</title></head>
<body>
<background:#FFFFFF C:\Documents and Settings\aqrq\Desktop\bodyback.jpg repeat-x scroll 0 0>
<color:#606060>
<img src="V:\INFORMATION\COMMON\Informatics Dept\Akhlaq\Training_IPSTAR_OPSTAR\banner.gif">
<font-family:Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif>
<font-size:11px>
<height:100%>
<line-height:18px>
<margin:0>
<padding:0>

jcdevelopment
08-13-2008, 05:33 PM
No ,thats all wrong.. You need to do it like i posted.


body {
background:#FFFFFF url(yourImage.gif) repeat-x ;
color:#606060;
height:100&#37;;
line-height:18px;
margin:0;
padding:0;
}

put that in the head like this



<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<style type="text/css">


body {
background:#FFFFFF url(yourImage.gif) repeat-x ;
color:#606060;
height:100%;
line-height:18px;
margin:0;
padding:0;
}



</style>
</head>

<body>
</body>
</html>


Then whatever image you have will repeat across.. let us know if that helps!

akhlaq768
08-13-2008, 05:36 PM
cheers buddy

akhlaq768
08-13-2008, 05:40 PM
ive got the backgroud that i like....

so initially my website was on all on one page... with your recommendation ive decided to split it onto different tabs.

how to i add a tab sheet to my page... i like the design of this one... as i already have chosen the background from them also.

http://www.smsme.no/index.html

jcdevelopment
08-13-2008, 05:43 PM
look through these (http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/indexb.html).. what that is is a CSS based menu with BG images for each link. Its actually quite easy but its best to choose the one that fits you the best. I will be happy to help you if you find one you like and dont understand some stuff.

akhlaq768
08-13-2008, 05:55 PM
i like example 2 on this page....

http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddtabmenu.htm

how would i incoporate it in the following code

oracleguy
08-13-2008, 05:58 PM
Moving to site reviews...

jcdevelopment
08-13-2008, 06:07 PM
well, you need to include the files that they give you called
"/ddtabmenu.js" and "/ddtabmenu.css"

include them like this


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<script type="text/javascript" src="ddtabmenu.js">
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="ddtabmenu.css" />
</head>


Then you need to add what they did to the html document



<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<script type="text/javascript" src="ddtabmenu.js">
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="ddtabmenu.css" />

<script type="text/javascript">
//SYNTAX: ddtabmenu.definemenu("tab_menu_id", integer OR "auto")
ddtabmenu.definemenu("ddtabs1", 0) //initialize Tab Menu with ID "ddtabs1" and select 1st tab by default
</script>

</head>
<body>
<div id="ddtabs1" class="basictab">
<ul>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com" rel="sc1">Home</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/new.htm" rel="sc2">DHTML</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/" rel="sc3">CSS</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/">Forums</a></li>
<li><a href="http://tools.dynamicdrive.com/imageoptimizer/">Gif Optimizer</a></li>
</ul>
</div>
<DIV class="tabcontainer">

<div id="sc1" class="tabcontent">
Sub contents here
</div>

<div id="sc2" class="tabcontent">
Sub contents here
</div>

<div id="sc3" class="tabcontent">
Sub contents here
</div>

</DIV>
</body>

Then that is the basic way.. let me know how it runs

akhlaq768
08-13-2008, 07:33 PM
thanks for the help....

but unfortunately i cant load the page correctly, it appears as follows....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v675/akhlaq768/error-1-1.jpg

is there anything i can do to fix this?

ninnypants
08-13-2008, 09:03 PM
Also Instead of this:

<a name="section1"><h2>1. Access to Reporting Services</h2></a>
Use :

<h2id="section1">1. Access to Reporting Services</h2>
You'll also need to wrap you a elements in a block level element like a list


<ul>
<li></li>
<li></li>
</ul>

ninnypants
08-13-2008, 09:05 PM
Give it a ".html" extension and you'll have to use css to create your layout.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum