View Full Version : Blank screen, nothing shows up.

Millenia
08-12-2008, 08:21 PM
I am a PHP newbie, as you know from my 'other thread', and I am working on a Blogging system for myself. Before I made a change to it, it displayed up to 6 posts in correct order, in a nice layout. However, the problem has started when I did something else. I am trying to make the header of the post, link to a page. On this page is that article, but on it's own. For each article, the page will be different. However when I come to test it, my page is just blank. I don't understand what happened or how to fix it, so can anyone give me guidance?

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<meta name="Description" content=" " />
<meta name="Keywords" content=" " />

<title>My Blog</title>
<link href="style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

</head>

<body>

<?php

error_reporting(E_ALL);

define('IN_BLOG', true);
require_once "config.php";

$sql = mysql_connect( $mysqlHost, $mysqlUsername, $mysqlPassword) or die(mysql_error());
mysql_select_db($mysqlDatabase, $sql) or die(mysql_error());

$result = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM blog_posts ORDER BY timestamp desc limit 6;
") or die(mysql_error());

$sqlCheck = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM blog_posts WHERE id='".$_GET['id']."'") or die(mysql_error());
$sqlCheck = mysql_num_rows($sqlCheck) or die(mysql_error());
$sqlRow = mysql_fetch_array($sqlCheck) or die(mysql_error());

if( !isset( $_GET['view'] ) && !isset( $_GET['id'] ))
{

while ( $row = mysql_fetch_array( $result ) )
{
echo "<h2><a href=\"index.php?view=post&amp;id=". $row['id'] . "\">" . $row['title'] . "</a></h2>" . "<p>" . $row['content'] . "</p><p><small>Posted by - <b>" .$row['author']. "</b> - on the date -<b>" . substr($row['timestamp'], -19, 11) .".</b></p></small>";
}

}else{