...

View Full Version : Hidden elements won't appear with onchange function defined in head



mrwireful9000
08-11-2008, 09:44 PM
I have four drop-down boxes, three of which are set to visibility:hidden. I need it so that when I select an option from the first box (the visible one), one of the next two boxes appears (depending on which option is picked) and when I pick an option in that box, the last box appears. One of the middle two boxes will still be hidden. However, when I change the first selection nothing happens. I would really appreciate if someone could help me out with this.
Thanks in advance!



<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<title></title>

<style type="text/css">
div.c1 {visibility:hidden}
</style>
<script type="text/javascript">
function showL() {
var season = document.getElementById('season');
var lengthp = document.getElementById('lengthp');
var lengtho = document.getElementById('lengtho');
if (season.selectedIndex == '0') {
lengtho.style.visibility = "hidden";
lengthp.style.visibility = "hidden";
alert('showL 0');
}
if (season.selectedIndex == '1') {
lengthp.style.visibility = "visible";
alert('showL peak');
}
if (season.selectedIndex == '2') {
lengtho.style.visibility = "visible";
alert('showL off');
}
}
function showPp() {
var lengthp = document.getElementById('lengthp');
var pet = document.getElementById('pet');
if (lengthp.selectedIndex == '0') {
pet.style.visibility = "hidden";
}
if (lengthp.selectedIndex != '0') {
pet.style.visibility = "visible";
}
}
function showPo() {
var lengtho = document.getElementById('lengtho');
var pet = document.getElementById('pet');
if (lengtho.selectedIndex == '0') {
pet.style.visibility = "hidden";
}
if (lengtho.selectedIndex != '0') {
pet.style.visibility = "visible";
}
}
</script>
</head>
<body>

<div id="season">
<select name="season" onChange="showL();">
<option value="0">Select One</option>
<option value="peak">Peak Season</option>
<option value="off">Off Season</option>
</select>
</div>
<div id="lengthp" class="c1">
<select name="lengthp" onChange="showPp();">
<option value="0">Select One</option>
<option value="2">2 Days</option>
<option value="3">3 Days</option>
<option value="4">4 Days</option>
<option value="5">5 Days</option>
<option value="6">6 Days</option>
<option value="7">1 Week</option>
</select>
</div>
<div id="lengtho" class="c1">
<select name="lengtho" onChange="showPo();">
<option value="0">Select One</option>
<option value="2">2 Days</option>
<option value="3">3 Days</option>
<option value="4">4 Days</option>
<option value="5">5 Days</option>
<option value="6">6 Days</option>
<option value="7">1 Week</option>
</select>
</div>
<div id="pet" class="c1">
<select name="pet">
<option value="0">Select One</option>
<option value="no">No</option>
<option value="yes">Yes</option>
</select>
</div>
</body>
</html>

VIPStephan
08-11-2008, 10:20 PM
You should initialize your scripts on page load because currently it’s not “gettingElements”, it’s just not doing anything. The JS console in Firefox probably gives you errors onChange.



window.onload = function() {
// put your script(s) here
}

mrwireful9000
08-11-2008, 10:27 PM
Thanks, but I don't quite get where to put that. Also I didn't get any errors, forgot to say that. The js console doesn't do anything on that page. It's very weird.

VIPStephan
08-11-2008, 10:40 PM
Two options:


<script type="text/javascript">
window.onload = function() {
function showL() {
var season = document.getElementById('season');
var lengthp = document.getElementById('lengthp');
var lengtho = document.getElementById('lengtho');
if (season.selectedIndex == '0') {
lengtho.style.visibility = "hidden";
lengthp.style.visibility = "hidden";
alert('showL 0');
}
if (season.selectedIndex == '1') {
lengthp.style.visibility = "visible";
alert('showL peak');
}
if (season.selectedIndex == '2') {
lengtho.style.visibility = "visible";
alert('showL off');
}
}
function showPp() {
var lengthp = document.getElementById('lengthp');
var pet = document.getElementById('pet');
if (lengthp.selectedIndex == '0') {
pet.style.visibility = "hidden";
}
if (lengthp.selectedIndex != '0') {
pet.style.visibility = "visible";
}
}
function showPo() {
var lengtho = document.getElementById('lengtho');
var pet = document.getElementById('pet');
if (lengtho.selectedIndex == '0') {
pet.style.visibility = "hidden";
}
if (lengtho.selectedIndex != '0') {
pet.style.visibility = "visible";
}
}
}
</script>


<script type="text/javascript">
function showL() {
var season = document.getElementById('season');
var lengthp = document.getElementById('lengthp');
var lengtho = document.getElementById('lengtho');
if (season.selectedIndex == '0') {
lengtho.style.visibility = "hidden";
lengthp.style.visibility = "hidden";
alert('showL 0');
}
if (season.selectedIndex == '1') {
lengthp.style.visibility = "visible";
alert('showL peak');
}
if (season.selectedIndex == '2') {
lengtho.style.visibility = "visible";
alert('showL off');
}
}
function showPp() {
var lengthp = document.getElementById('lengthp');
var pet = document.getElementById('pet');
if (lengthp.selectedIndex == '0') {
pet.style.visibility = "hidden";
}
if (lengthp.selectedIndex != '0') {
pet.style.visibility = "visible";
}
}
function showPo() {
var lengtho = document.getElementById('lengtho');
var pet = document.getElementById('pet');
if (lengtho.selectedIndex == '0') {
pet.style.visibility = "hidden";
}
if (lengtho.selectedIndex != '0') {
pet.style.visibility = "visible";
}
window.onload = function() {
showL();
showPp();
showPo();
}
</script>

mrwireful9000
08-12-2008, 12:23 AM
Oh I understand it now, but I just realized that the selectedIndex was referring to the div and not the select. I fixed it by using a form instead of a div and doing it like this: document.formname.selectname.selectedIndex and removing the variables from getElementById. Thanks so much for your help, you made it possible for me to see my mistake!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum