...

View Full Version : Application works fine in mozilla but not in IE



nidhikayadav
08-05-2008, 09:33 AM
There is a web application that I made. Using javascript, YUI(yahoo user interface), cgi. The application works fine with mozilla, but when the same application is accessed through latest IE there are issues with the dialog boxes they are not getting displayed. So I am not able to deploy it. Is is a know problem. What is its solution.

Thanks
Nidhika

Kor
08-05-2008, 09:57 AM
There is a web application that I made. Using javascript, YUI(yahoo user interface), cgi. The application works fine with mozilla, but when the same application is accessed through latest IE there are issues with the dialog boxes they are not getting displayed. So I am not able to deploy it. Is is a know problem. What is its solution.

Thanks
Nidhika
Do you think we have a magic bowl, or what? :rolleyes: Tell us at least what application you have used, if not showing us the code and, even better, show us a link to a test page. And make it clear what "issues" happens with your boxes and what is wrong with them in IE.

By short, tell us which is the code, what supposes it to do and which are the wrong results in IE.

It is not at all a "known problem" as you may think. It might be known only by you...

nidhikayadav
08-05-2008, 10:17 AM
Hi,

Thanks for replying. I am using apache server on my local system [http:\localhost\xy]. Problem is like:-

i have made radio buttons, push buttons and associated actions that are handelled using YAHOO.util.Connect.asyncRequest. Then the actions like displaying results , poping up of other dialogs are handled via mozilla but not through IE. Nothing happens on IE as if there is no action associated with the radio and push buttons.


Hope this is clear . or i should give some samle patch of the application

Thanks
Nidhika

Kor
08-05-2008, 11:06 AM
No, it is not quite clear. I understand now that you have used a Yahoo.util library, but you must show us how you used it. We need to see the code, your code (HTML and the "local" part of javascript), or the significant part of it. Or, as I said, a link to a test page, if any.

We can not simply talk about codes, we need to see the codes.

nidhikayadav
08-12-2008, 12:06 PM
The following is the index.html used

<html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8">



<!-- stylesheets -->
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="./yui/build/fonts/fonts-min.css" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="./yui/build/button/assets/skins/sam/button.css" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="./yui/build/container/assets/skins/sam/container.css" />
<script type="text/javascript" src="./yui/build/utilities/utilities.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="./yui/build/container/container-min.js"></script>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="./yui/build/datatable/assets/skins/sam/datatable.css" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="./yui/build/menu/assets/skins/sam/menu.css" />

<!-- script files -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="./yui/build/yahoo-dom-event/yahoo-dom-event.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="./yui/build/connection/connection-min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="./yui/build/element/element-beta-min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="./yui/build/datasource/datasource-beta-min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="./yui/build/datatable/datatable-beta-min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="./yui/build/button/button-min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="../yui/build/utilities/utilities.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="../yui/build/button/button-beta.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="../yui/build/yahoo/yahoo.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="../yui/build/event/event.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="../yui/build/connection/connection.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="../yui/build/container/container.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="../yui/build/button/button-beta.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="../yui/build/container/container_core.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="../yui/build/menu/menu.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="../yui/build/tabview/tabview.js"></script>


<script type="text/javascript">



</script>

</head>

<body class=" yui-skin-sam" >




</style>



<td>
<table id ="main-view-parent-table" bgcolor=#F0C1C1 border="1" >
<tr><td>
<table id="main-view-table" >
<CAPTION align="center"><font color="#FFFFFF"><b>Click the radio button.</b></font></CAPTION>
<tr id="main-view-row">
<td><input type="radio" name="select me" value="select me" id="d1"><b>click me</b></td>
</tr>
</table>
</tr></td>
</table>

</td>
</tr>
</table>


<script>
YAHOO.namespace("example.container");


function initbu2() {


var handleClose = function() {
this.cancel();
};

YAHOO.example.container.dialogbu2 = new YAHOO.widget.Dialog("dialogbu2",
{ width : "35em",

visible : false,

zindex:4,

buttons : [ { text:"Close", handler:handleClose}]
});

YAHOO.example.container.dialogbu2.moveTo(400,400);
YAHOO.example.container.dialogbu2.render();
}
function initbu1(){

var handleok = function() {
YAHOO.example.container.dialogbu2.show();
};
var handleCancel = function() {
this.cancel();
};

// Instantiate the Dialog
YAHOO.example.container.dialogbu1 = new YAHOO.widget.Dialog("dialogbu1",
{ width : "30em",

visible : false,

zindex:4,

buttons : [ { text:"ok", handler:handleok, isDefault:true },
{ text:"Close", handler:handleCancel } ]
});
// Render the Dialog
YAHOO.example.container.dialogbu1.moveTo(400,400);
YAHOO.example.container.dialogbu1.render();
YAHOO.util.Event.addListener("d1", "click",updateBuList );
YAHOO.util.Event.addListener("d1", "click", YAHOO.example.container.dialogbu1.show, YAHOO.example.container.dialogbu1, true);

}




function updateBuList() {

this.connectionCallback = {
success: function(o) {
if(o.responseText !== undefined)
{
var result = o.responseXML.documentElement;
var sel = document.getElementById("bu-list");

//clear the list
sel.options.length = 0;

bulist = result.getElementsByTagName("data");

var opt = document.createElement("option");
opt.appendChild(document.createTextNode("All Data of XML"));
sel.appendChild(opt);

for(i = 0; i < bulist.length; i++)
{
var opt = document.createElement("option");
opt.appendChild(document.createTextNode(bulist.item(i).firstChild.nodeValue));
sel.appendChild(opt);
}
}
},
failure: function(o) {
alert('error reading xml');
alert(o.responseText);
}
};


var sUrl = '/../cgi-bin/getList.cgi';
// Initiate the HTTP GET request.
this.getXML = YAHOO.util.Connect.asyncRequest('GET',sUrl, this.connectionCallback);

}


YAHOO.util.Event.onDOMReady(initbu1);
YAHOO.util.Event.onDOMReady(initbu2);


</script>

<div id="dialogbu1">
<div class="hd">Reading Xml Information</div>
<div class="bd" >
<label for="users">Select a xml read data:</label>
<select name="bu-list" id="bu-list">
</select>
</div>
</div>


<div id="dialogbu2">
<div class="hd">Dialog Information</div>
<div class="bd" id="dialog-bu2-body">
<table id="dialog-bu2-table" cellspacing="8" cellpadding="0" valign="top" align="center" border="1">
<CAPTION>Details</CAPTION>
<td><b>col 1</b></td>
<td><b>col 2</b></td>
<td><label for="out_bu"><b>col 1</b></label></td>
<td><label for="out_product"><b>col 2</b></label></td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
</div>






















The following is the cgi script getList.cgi used:-


#! D:\utilities\perl\ActivePerl-5.8.8.819-MSWin32-x86-267479\perl\bin\perl
use strict;
use warnings;
use File::Find;
use File::stat;
use CGI qw/:standard/;
use DBI;
use POSIX;


print "Content-Type: text/xml; charset=ISO-8859-1\n\n";


print "<businessUnit>\n";

print " <data>datal</data>\n";
print " <data>data2</data>\n";
print " <data>data3</data>\n";


print "</businessUnit>\n";


I have used apache server.

Thanks
Nidhika



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum