View Full Version : Tuning the load time of website - Help

02-10-2003, 09:39 PM
I developed a website www.myshehar.com
It's 98% done except for some tuning.
The loading time is really slow like it is taking 61secs on dailup.
I am not able to figure out what and where the bottleneck is.
Are there some kind of tools to analyze which part of the website is taking how much time .
Until the site is tuned it cannot be launched

02-10-2003, 09:48 PM
There are only really two things you can look at; images and code.

I have cable so didn't notice which, if any images were causing trouble, however you should always optimise your images, either using Photoshop's "export for web" or using an optimising tool like Xat.com (http://www.xat.com/) image optimiser.

The other aspect you may wish to look at is code and more importantly your layout method; tables are very bulky, particularly on busy (although nicely lad out) pages like that. You may want to try recreating the page using CSS positioning or a combo of CSS and tables. This would likely cut your code substantially and have knock on effect when it comes to users viewing multiple pages of the same format (as they should thenhave the *.css file in their cache).

02-10-2003, 09:59 PM
Thanks Mouse.
I'll start looking at the images

Quiet Storm
02-10-2003, 11:06 PM
Here are a few things...

1) Tables;
Usually, I've found that a table full of contents will NOT display on a browser until ALL contents within that table are fully loaded. Now if you have a table... filled with other tables and TDs... with more tables, TRs and TDs.... Well, it takes an awfully long time for everything to finally load in each of those - and only then will the first table decide to display it all.

My suggestion, also, is to switch to CSS. Stay away from that many tables. I see you already have some CSS on the site - keep with that direction. :) It'll be worth the work in the long run.

2) Images (this will probably be where your problem is);
You need to shrink the file sizes, well one of them. This example; you have an animated 55x40 image (http://www.myshehar.com/images/Film.gif) that's a whopping 172,662 bites! That's HUGE! :)

Another image (http://localhost/web/images/arrow.gif) doesn't even show up - meaning the entire table is waiting for this image to load... waiting... waiting... till finally it gives up and moves on. Double check your URL...

Images should be checked/shrunk first - I bet your site will load A LOT faster! If you have the patience, switch your tables to divs and use CSS - that'll help a lot, too!


02-11-2003, 10:26 AM
That's a stupendous amount of code for a page that size! Without having looked into image sizes, I definitely support Quiet Storm: loose the tables, go for CSS! If you don't want to use CSS positioning for layout but want to stick with a table layout, you really only need one, or maybe two; the rest can all be done with basic CSS1.
While your at it: get rid of all presentation attributes and elements, and use CSS where possible.

By the way: very nice layout!

02-11-2003, 10:36 AM
Total images: 188 Total bytes: 152838

The document contained 53 FONT tags.
Their size was: 2380 bytes.
That's 4% of the total markup size.
The size of all your markup was: 64187 bytes.
That's 85% of the total document size that was 75106 bytes.

The document also contained 55 tables.

There you have it. ;)

02-11-2003, 05:15 PM
Another thing you may want to consider, albeit a small one. Not all of your img tags specify both height and width. When these dimensions in the code are not specified, the computer must then calculate them. These calculations, in turn, will slow down the load time.

Something else I noticed that may save you some headaches down the road (though not necessarily related to load time): many of your href tags are absolute links: i.e "http://www.myshehar.com/Events/Show.asp". If you use relative linking instead----href="Events/show.asp" for example-- it will make your site more portable if you ever need to change servers. You only need to specify where a file is located in relation to the file you are linking from.

02-11-2003, 05:28 PM
Go to http://www.nebulus.org/ click on products then web tools and you'll see something under site Efficency/Preloading called loader. Click on that and fallow the directions. Im going to use it because even after i optimize my images it'll still be to many for slower connections.

02-11-2003, 05:46 PM
Thanks a lot guys.
Now I know what and where the problem is and I'll fix it.
Thanks again