...

View Full Version : CSS IE lag problem



Eddie_E
07-15-2008, 12:44 PM
Hi

I have a small prob with my nav which looks untidy on the page. When using IE when continuously rolling over the using the 3rd tier of the nav you will see that the hover lags behind as shown in image: http://www.be-graphics.com/sites/karitane/Images/Nav/navproblem.jpg

The home page here:

http://www.be-graphics.com/sites/karitane

Because its an IE problem im assuming im missing something in the hover.htc or the parts of the CSS i.e.


body {
font-size: 100%; /* enable IE to resize em fonts */
}
#menu ul li {
float: left; /* cure IE5.x "whitespace in lists" problem */
width: 100%;
}
#menu ul ul li {
float: left; /* cure IE5.x "whitespace in lists" problem */
width: 100%;
}
#menu ul ul ul li {
float: left; /* cure IE5.x "whitespace in lists" problem */
width: 100%;
}
#menu ul ul ul ul li {
float: left; /* cure IE5.x "whitespace in lists" problem */
width: 100%;
}
#menu ul li a, /* make links honour display: block; properly */
#menu ul ul li a, /* make links honour display: block; properly */
#menu ul ul ul li a /* make links honour display: block; properly */
{display: block;}


Any help will be greatly appreciated.

thx

Eddie

jcdevelopment
07-15-2008, 04:23 PM
Everything is working lightning fast for me. I went to the site for the first time, no cache, and everything was tight and very fast. It may be your browser that is experiencing the problems.

Anyone else see it?

harbingerOTV
07-15-2008, 05:49 PM
try adding this script in your head:


<script type="text/javascript">
function fixIE6flicker(fix) {
try {
document.execCommand("BackgroundImageCache", false, fix);
} catch(err) { }
}
fixIE6flicker(true);
</script>


basically a small script to force IE to cache background images.

jcdevelopment
07-15-2008, 05:51 PM
I need that, thanks harbingerOTV!

Eddie_E
07-16-2008, 02:10 AM
Ive tried on both my office and home IE browsers and same problem. As i said it sometimes wont show at first use but on continous rolling over the 3rd tier of links it does finally appear.

I tired the JavaScript but no joy, but I see that that JavaScript is an IE6 fix whereas the im testing on IE7.

But thx for your help and if anyone has any other solutions I will welcome the help.

thx
Eddie

harbingerOTV
07-16-2008, 02:39 AM
Eddie,

The script isn't calling a specific version of IE, it was just created before IE7 was around because of it's background caching image. It could be called like function chickenNoodleSoup and still do the same thing ;)

I've tested your page in IE6 and IE7 on both my work machine (4ghz, 3g ram) and at home (3ghz, 2g ram) and the only IE6 seems to experiencing the behavior your describing.

It's weird though because I had the same issue with IE6 on my site but not IE7.

Hopefully someone else can enlighten us all.

-Alan

Eddie_E
07-28-2008, 03:56 AM
it seems noone can :(

bowers01
10-05-2008, 02:07 PM
Did you fix this? i have the same problem.
Cheers

Eddie_E
10-07-2008, 12:21 AM
no never did, noone could figure it out and ive tried everything to the best of my ability...

bowers01
10-09-2008, 10:59 AM
on my site http://truckyard.com.au/newsite it works fine in IE6 just not 7.
Anyone else got some ideas?
Cheers

abduraooft
10-09-2008, 12:28 PM
on my site http://truckyard.com.au/newsite it works fine in IE6 just not 7.
Anyone else got some ideas?
Cheers
It'd be nice to create a new thread for you, explaining all symptoms.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum