...

View Full Version : Query String Issue



Candrias77
02-10-2003, 06:36 AM
I have just installed PHPDEV but have a problem - I can't pass variables through the url. Links that were fine on my remote server just act as though there was no query string at all.

I have posted my problem at the firepages.com.au forum but have had no response yet, I was hoping that maybee someone would have some idea of what the problem could be.

I have never installed Apache on this pc before, I am running WinXP (NTFS).

Cheers, appreciate any help.

requestcode
02-17-2003, 07:55 PM
If you go to his website and search in the forums there you will find your answer. It has to do with changing this line:
register_globals=On

in the php.ini file. You need to set that to "On" for it to work.

Spookster
02-17-2003, 08:04 PM
Originally posted by requestcode
If you go to his website and search in the forums there you will find your answer. It has to do with changing this line:
register_globals=On

in the php.ini file. You need to set that to "On" for it to work.

Well that would not really be the problem. You can pass variables through the query string with register globals off. The problem is how you refer to those variables ie.

HTTP_GET_VARS["yaks"] for globals on

_GET["yaks"] for globals off.

If you host has set set your globals to on then it might be a good idea to set up your development envioronment that way however using globals in general is just a bad idea and webhosts are only going back and setting the newer versions of PHP to register globals to on because so many people are already using programs that were written for globals being off or were written poorly.

Candrias77
02-18-2003, 06:38 AM
Thanks to both of you, I understand the whole system a little better now.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum