...

View Full Version : Firefox 3



NancyJ
06-17-2008, 07:46 PM
I didn't want to pollute the nice clean thread but the link given for firefox 3 (www.mozilla.com/firefox) is still firefox 2 for me, as is every other firefox link I've tried today.

If they want to set an impressive world record it would help to have the download available.

NancyJ
06-17-2008, 08:35 PM
Nevermind, they've got it sorted now.

...damn no firebug or colorzilla

TheShaner
06-17-2008, 09:26 PM
I didn't want to pollute the nice clean thread but the link given for firefox 3 (www.mozilla.com/firefox) is still firefox 2 for me, as is every other firefox link I've tried today.

If they want to set an impressive world record it would help to have the download available.
I was seeing the same thing about an hour ago also. I could only find the link to Firefox 3 Candidate 3. If you hadn't posted your follow-up, I wouldn't have known it was available yet.

-Shane

NancyJ
06-17-2008, 09:36 PM
The site was getting hammered from 5pm (BST) onwards but they were definitely late getting it up.

Not liking the new address bar :( So much more typing to get the right site.

eg. I use to just type m and then a down arrow to get to mail.yahoo.com - now it brings up every site with an m in the url or page title :(

Karnak44
06-17-2008, 09:44 PM
How have you guys liked (or disliked) Firefox 3 so far? I don't know if I want to download it in fear of losing functionality like NancyJ was talking about...

TheShaner
06-17-2008, 09:53 PM
The site was getting hammered from 5pm (BST) onwards but they were definitely late getting it up.

Not liking the new address bar :( So much more typing to get the right site.

eg. I use to just type m and then a down arrow to get to mail.yahoo.com - now it brings up every site with an m in the url or page title :(
They still must be getting hammered because I'm attempting to access their site now for Fx3 themes (no Blue Ice for now), but I'm getting CIs and really slow page loads. The site also seems to be displaying the download for 2 again.

When I installed it, I had 3 additional shortcuts on my desktop. I was able to delete one and then after refreshing my desktop, the other two disappeared.

I'm also not liking the new address bar either. It's too crowded and my eyes get a little cross-eyed trying to look through my history as I type. Maybe after a few weeks of using it, it'll grow on me. But for now, I agree with Nancy. I also know I'm going to click on that Bookmark icon when trying to use the drop down on the address bar. It's a good idea, but maybe not the best location.

-Shane

NancyJ
06-17-2008, 10:03 PM
I like the new bookmark icon but I can totally see where you're coming from about accidentally clicking it instead of the (very tiny) arrow.

So far its ok. I've lost a couple of add-on I liked but hopefully they'll be updated soon. I'm not noticing much difference to FF2, maybe a little faster, my main reason for upgrading as the slowness and memory hemorrhaging (my laptop only has 1GB and FF regularly takes up 500Mb+) had me almost going back to Opera - tbh if it weren't for firebug and web developer toolbar (and the lack of support by web designers) I'd have ditched firefox a long time ago.

binaryWeapon
06-17-2008, 10:08 PM
Nothing lifechanging in this update. Just a buncha extensions that got killed.

I like:
- Get Addons from the addons window

Don't like:
- Freezes on me a lot in Vista

Here's a list of popular extensions and whether they work:
- Firebug works. Try 1.1 beta or 1.2 alpha
- Adblock plus works
- Colorzilla works
- Google Web accelerator doesn't
- Stumbleupon works
- YSlow works
- HTML Validator works

Overall the major ones work, but I had about 10 little ones die on me.

I'm probably going to uninstall and wait for the extensions to catch up, get more stable, etc.

NancyJ
06-17-2008, 10:11 PM
I tried to get Firebug direct from the source but I got a download error with every version I tried.

binaryWeapon
06-17-2008, 10:35 PM
I downloaded it from www.getfirebug.com

NancyJ
06-17-2008, 10:57 PM
Looks like its working again now. Just missing fasterfox now but thats no biggie.

binaryWeapon
06-17-2008, 11:18 PM
I tried to uninstall and reinstall FF2.0.14. Now FF2 crashes every time it opens. I had to go back to FF3 (luckily I had a few extra browsers installed) and now it freezes up on me every time I do anything. The forward and backward buttons are gone for some strange reason. Overall, this update is thoroughly reminding me of the mootools update (http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?t=142050).

I was able to get FF2 back now.

Fumigator
06-18-2008, 01:24 AM
People are using Vista? http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/3316/tfr612ix4.gif

FWDrew
06-18-2008, 03:01 AM
Wow seems like some of you guys have had some issues, I must be lucky.

I had no issues getting to the site, downloading or installing. Firebug and all my other plugins were transferred upon install.

I dont have anything bad to say about it at all, I like how the design integrates with your OS and it seems much faster than FF 2 to me.

Supposedly, their servers got so many hits earlier that they crashed for a short while, so that may have been the cause of some people problems. I hope they break the record :D

rafiki
06-18-2008, 02:23 PM
Supposedly, their servers got so many hits earlier that they crashed for a short while, so that may have been the cause of some people problems.
If they were wanting to break a world record maybe they should of had more servers at hand to handle all the requests.
I also hope they break a world record.

NancyJ
06-18-2008, 04:58 PM
There is no record to break. They are setting a new record, so really it doesn't matter how many downloads they get. So far they've had 7 million, which is more than they hoped for iirc. Of course now I have to rewrite my niceforms plugin to exclude ff3 for Mac because they're doing that horrid thing that safari does with forms.

ole90
06-19-2008, 04:13 AM
Been using it today and I really like it. It feels very...vista-ish with the design and stuff. Hasn't crashed once all day and i'm just glad fireftp works with it :D

VIPStephan
06-19-2008, 06:41 PM
Not liking the new address bar :( So much more typing to get the right site.

eg. I use to just type m and then a down arrow to get to mail.yahoo.com - now it brings up every site with an m in the url or page title :(

Hm, from trying it out the last few days it seems like it’s adapting to your typing/site access customs. I mean if you access mail.yahoo.com very frequently it’s sufficient to type “m” and it will bring that one up first in the list.
On the other hand, you could just save it as bookmark and set the shortcut key (or keyword, or however it’s called) to “m” and it will access the site without even asking or searching anything.

So far I like Firefox 3 and haven’t had any problem yet except with a crappy and badly implemented CMS where things don’t work as they should. But that’s the CMS’s fault. And for my personal taste the browser chrome/default theme is a little too dark compared to the one of Firefox 2. The green webdeveloper toolbar icons aren’t really setting themselves apart anymore (see resize button in attached image).

But other than that it looks very promising. :)

NancyJ
06-19-2008, 07:08 PM
Yeah, it seems to be getting better now. In windows the chrome is almost exactly the same, theres a few button changes but not much.

jkd
06-20-2008, 06:55 PM
I like it. Developer-wise, there are some nice changes under the hood, and 3.1 should bring along support for some more CSS3 selectors (and fix some dynamic rule matching bugs).

NancyJ
06-20-2008, 07:22 PM
I'm really not all that bothered about CSS3 support, I mean, its all very well Firefox being 'ahead of the curve' but until it can achieve 90% market penetration we'll still be stuck using whatever IE supports.

jkd
06-20-2008, 11:10 PM
Perhaps, but when Opera, Safari, and Firefox all support CSS3 selectors equally well (which happened in 9.5, 3.1, and 3.1, respectively), then you can write nice CSS and treat IE as an entirely different consumer (completely separate CSS, JS, etc) instead of polluting otherwise clean code with numerous hacks and expecting everybody to consume it. It allows you to focus *only* on standard-based techniques, then *only* on IE-proprietary code -- I've found combining the two only causes headaches.

VIPStephan
06-21-2008, 02:42 AM
[…] you can write nice CSS and treat IE as an entirely different consumer (completely separate CSS, JS, etc) instead of polluting otherwise clean code with numerous hacks […]

You mean by using media="screen and blablabla"? I need to get into that…

Millenia
06-21-2008, 11:06 AM
Ewww...2 Things I don't like about the new firefox. The buttons and the changed fonts! I need to get some Windows fonts because to be honest everything looks horrible!

gnomeontherun
06-21-2008, 10:56 PM
I thought it was supposed to be lighter, its still eating some 160,000 K of my memory according to Task Manager, just about the same as FF2 for me.

bazz
06-21-2008, 11:31 PM
I have only downloaded it today but it seems ok. Is it FF3 or a new program in CF that highlights my spelling mistakes? Hopefully I'll get better :)

Question:
I am trying to update my bookmarks from my old hdd. I don't seem to be able to find where they are stored in ff3. anyone tell me? I have looked in porfiles and in Documents and settings. (winxp home sp2).

bazz

gnomeontherun
06-21-2008, 11:43 PM
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\defaults\profile Check there, its where mine are.

bazz
06-22-2008, 12:36 AM
Thanks Jeremy,

That's where I thought it was and having moved my existing bookmarks.html file to there (replacing the ff3 one), it doesn't provide them. I had created another single bookmark in ff3 and it shows, but I can't find the file that contains it. I have used the search facility of winXP but, to no avail. :(

I may have to transfer them manually :mad:

bazz

oracleguy
06-22-2008, 01:33 AM
I believe the bookmarks in FF3 are stored in a sqlite database (probably one of the .db or .sqlite files). Which is about time considering it only took them 5 years to fix the bookmark system (https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=193749).

To import your bookmarks.html file, go to the organize bookmarks window and click File > Import and select from a file.

bazz
06-22-2008, 01:42 AM
yabadabadoooo!!

Hopefully that gives you an idea of what it's like around here now that I have my bookmarks again. :D

Thanks oracleguy :thumbsup:

NancyJ
06-22-2008, 10:09 AM
I thought it was supposed to be lighter, its still eating some 160,000 K of my memory according to Task Manager, just about the same as FF2 for me.

Mines running at 180k - it used to run at 500k+ before. Although that might be because I don't have fasterfox anymore.

oracleguy
06-22-2008, 06:28 PM
It also depends how long you've had the browser open and how many tabs you are using.

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-22-2008, 07:27 PM
Mines running at 180k - it used to run at 500k+ before. Although that might be because I don't have fasterfox anymore.
Mine is running at 520 KB. Yes I said KB, not 180000 or 500000 but simply 520. This is my configuration.

Generated: Sun Jun 22 2008 13:26:38 GMT-0400 (Eastern Daylight Time)
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008052906 Firefox/3.0
Build ID: 2008052906

Enabled Extensions: [20]
- Adblock Plus (http://adblockplus.org/) 0.7.5.5
- CookieCuller (http://cookieculler.mozdev.org/) 1.3.1
- DownThemAll! (http://downthemall.net/) 1.0.3
- Fasterfox (http://fasterfox.mozdev.org/) 2.0.0
- Feed Sidebar (http://www.chrisfinke.com/addons/feedbar/) 2.2.2
- Firebug (http://www.getfirebug.com/) 1.2.0b3
- FireNes (http://www.firenes.com.ar/) 1.0
- Gmail Space (http://www.getgspace.com/) 0.5.94
- Java Console (http://www.google.com/search?q=Firefox%20Java%20Console) 6.0.06
- MR Tech Toolkit (formerly Local Install) (http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/) 6.0.1
- NoScript (http://noscript.net) 1.6.9.3
- Open link in... (http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=118365) 1.5
- Source Viewer Tab (http://piro.sakura.ne.jp/xul/_viewsourceintab.html.en) 0.2.2008061901
- Tab Catalog (http://piro.sakura.ne.jp/xul/_tabcatalog.html.en) 1.4.2008052701
- Tabs Open Relative (http://jomel.me.uk/software/firefox/tabsopenrelative/) 0.3.3
- Tiny Menu (http://trac.arantius.com/wiki/Extensions/TinyMenu) 1.4.9
- United States English Dictionary (http://www.blogzilla.info/spellchecker/) 3.0.3
- View Cookies (http://www.bitstorm.org/extensions/view-cookies/) 1.7
- Web Developer (http://chrispederick.com/work/web-developer/) 1.1.6
- webgoradio Toolbar (http://www.conduit.com) 1.5.39.0

Installed Themes: [1]
- Default (http://www.mozilla.org/)

Installed Plugins: (10)
- 2007 Microsoft Office system
- Adobe Acrobat
- Google Updater
- Java(TM) Platform SE 6 U6
- Microsoft® Windows Media Player Firefox Plugin
- Move Media Player
- Mozilla Default Plug-in
- QuickTime Plug-in 7.5 (861)
- Shockwave Flash
- Silverlight Plug-In

And I have about 3 tabs open right now and its been running since last night.

NancyJ
06-22-2008, 08:47 PM
I have usually 10-20 tabs open and I usually have firefox open for days if not weeks, but with FF2 it would easily get up to 300k within a day.

How come you've got fasterfox, its not compatible with FF3 (well thats what it tells me when I try to install it)

_Aerospace_Eng_
06-22-2008, 10:03 PM
I have usually 10-20 tabs open and I usually have firefox open for days if not weeks, but with FF2 it would easily get up to 300k within a day.

How come you've got fasterfox, its not compatible with FF3 (well thats what it tells me when I try to install it)

Its just disabled.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum