...

View Full Version : Body Margin Problem in Firefox



ananyamitra
05-14-2008, 12:40 PM
I am using the following piece of code to make body margin 0.

<body leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" marginwidth="0">

when i use a table and want it to cover the entire height of the page,I can still find a portion of blank space below the table.I am using height=100&#37; in the table tag.Please help.Mind you,I am getting this peculiar problem in firefox,everything looks smooth in IE.

technica
05-14-2008, 12:51 PM
Try using:

<Body style="margin: 0px;">

Hope this helps

effpeetee
05-14-2008, 01:52 PM
We really need to see more code than this. All of it preferably or better still a site url.

Frank

ananyamitra
05-14-2008, 02:10 PM
I am pasting the coding of the tables being used.And that style solution I had already tried previously,no use!!!



<body bgcolor="#999999" leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" marginwidth="0">

<table border=0 align=center height=100&#37; width=100% cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">


<tr>
<td>

<table border=0 align=center bgcolor=white cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" width=100%>



<tr>
<td>

<table border=0 cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" bgcolor="#2e64ae" width=100%>
<tr>
<td align=left>
some content here
</td>
</tr>
</table>


</td>
</tr>
<tr height=25px>
<td>
<table class="buttonsHome" cellspacing="2" cellpadding="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td>some content here </td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>

<!--Top Image and Text Setion -->
<tr>
<td>
<table align="center" width=900px cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" -class="picLeft" border=0>
<tr valign="middle">
<td>
Some content
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>

<!--End of image table -->



<!-- 50 pix gutter section between image and links -->
<tr height=50px>
<td>
&nbsp;
</td>
</tr>
<!-- End of gutter section -->


<!-- Link Section Start -->



<tr>
<td>


<table align="center" -class="linkPositions" border=0>
<tr valign=top>
<!--First table-->
<td>
Some Content Here
</td>

</tr>
</table>





</td>
</tr>

<tr height=85px>
<td>
&nbsp;
</td>
</tr>

<!--Footer Row -->
<tr>
<td>

<table align="center" width=100% cellspacing=0 cellpadding=0 class="footer" border=0>
<tr align="left"height="60" bgcolor="#3a7dda">
<td width=60% >

Some Content Here
</td>
</tr>
</table>

</td>
</tr>
<!-- End of footer row -->




</table>

<!-- End of biggest table -->
</td>
</tr>




</table>
</body>

abduraooft
05-14-2008, 02:20 PM
I'd recommend you to start from
Why tables for layout is stupid: problems defined, solutions offered (http://www.hotdesign.com/seybold/)

ananyamitra
05-14-2008, 02:36 PM
I aprreciate yor response,but as of now I need a solution to the above problem.Definitely I will improve my design skills with the help of that link buddy....

jhaycutexp
05-14-2008, 03:06 PM
use this..

body {margin:0;
padding0;
}

effpeetee
05-14-2008, 04:09 PM
use this..
body {margin:0;
padding0;
}

This is css and will need to go in the Head section thus.

<style type="text/css">
body {margin : 0;
padding : 0;
}
</style>
</head>

Frank

abduraooft
05-14-2008, 04:11 PM
Both of you missed a colon

padding : 0; :)

jcdevelopment
05-14-2008, 04:15 PM
I know that in order to have a descent cross browser use i set everything to a default 0px by using this code.




* {
margin:0px;
padding:0px;
}


That will set all elements to "0". Its just for further information.

effpeetee
05-14-2008, 04:39 PM
I know that in order to have a decent cross browser use i set everything to a default 0px by using this code.




* {
margin:0px;
padding:0px;
}


That will set all elements to "0". Its just for further information.
Everytime.

abduraooft : I've put it right. I just cut and pasted it!

Frank

ananyamitra
05-15-2008, 06:17 AM
I had tried dat body:0 padding:0 solutin way back,sorry to inform that didn't work in firefox either.However
* {
margin:0px;
padding:0px;
}
indeeds solves the problem...but the rest of the layout seems destroyed in firefox.However,thanx 4 all ur help buddies.If there is any other alternative do let me know.

jhaycutexp
05-15-2008, 01:55 PM
Both of you missed a colon

padding : 0; :)

hahaha... its very annoying when it comes to typo in coding..

but what can i say... my bad..:D



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum